Chronicles of the Cypriot Passport Saga. Part 33

Хроники кипрской саги о паспортах. Часть 33
16 October 2021 DOM LiVE
935

The Council of Ministers decided to start the process of revoking the Cypriot citizenship of 39 foreign investors and 6 members of their families.

Also they repealed previous amendments regarding the legality of naturalization of investors' family members.

This was announced on Friday, October 16, by the official representative of the government, Marios Pelekanos.

According to Pelekanos, the Council of Ministers also decided to continue the investigation of 6 cases on the issuance of Golden passports, as well as to take control of another 47 cases in accordance with the legal procedures.

By the way, earlier the Inquiry Committee, headed by Myron Nikolatos, said that more than half of the 3,000 golden citizenships granted by the Cypriot government between 2007 and August 2020 were illegal. The committee recommended that the passports of 102 'new Cypriots' be revoked.

According to Pelekanos, the Ministry of Internal Affairs, having studied the findings, submitted concrete proposals to the Council of Ministers, which they approved.

Pelekanos stressed that in some cases, when the committee recommended depriving foreigners of Cypriot citizenship, it was found that all the criteria of the investment program were met. The investigation revealed that they still own the property, so there is no legal basis for revoking their citizenship.

Finally, Pelekanos said that the decision of the Council of Ministers will soon be brought to the attention of the European Commission.

Хроники кипрской саги о паспортах. Часть 33

As you may know, the investigation into the illegal issuance of golden passports began after the publication of a secret video recorded by Al Jazeera, in which Christakis Giovanis and former President of the House of Representatives Demetris Silluris offer assistance to a fictitious Chinese criminal in obtaining citizenship.

The channel stated that about 1.4 thousand people, including businessmen from the Russian Federation, Vietnam and China, illegally received Cypriot gold passports, since at the time of consideration of applications they were under suspicion of committing crimes or even on the international wanted list. The opposition demanded an explanation from the authorities, and the government began to investigate the program, although they also noted the "falsification of facts" on the part of the TV channel.

Brussels was shocked by the secret investigation of the Qatari TV channel Al Jazeera, by the highest political elite of Cyprus who were ready to help convicted criminals obtain EU citizenship, as well as provide them with access to the internal markets of the Union and a visa-free regime.

In October 2020, the European Commission began checking the compliance with EU laws of the Cyprus actions, when EU citizenship can be obtained in exchange for investment in the economy. A corresponding notification was sent to the authorities of the country. Brussels gave Cyprus 2 months to clarify the situation.

Cyprus has appointed a special Inquiry Committee to investigate the high-profile scandal. In parallel, an independent investigation was undertaken by the country's Auditor-General, who, for unknown reasons, was constantly being resisted. A series of public hearings were held on the island.

Finally, on June 22, the office of the Attorney General of Cyprus released the final report of the Investigative Committee, which, under the leadership of Myron Nikolatos, was investigating cases of illegal issuance of golden passports. The 780-page dossier has been extensively revised. For security reasons, the names and some personal data of investors were removed from it.

A lengthy investigation has shed light on a host of violations.

Хроники кипрской саги о паспортах. Часть 33

Read also:

  • Chronicles of the Cypriot Passport Saga. Part 32 (link)
  • Chronicles of the Cypriot Passport Saga. Part 31 (link)
  • Chronicles of the Cypriot Passport Saga. Part 30 (link)
  • Chronicles of the Cypriot Passport Saga. Part 29 (link)
  • Chronicles of the Cypriot Passport Saga. Part 28 (link)
  • Chronicles of the Cypriot Passport Saga. Part 27 (link)
Source: stockwatch.com.cy
Photos: pixabay.com
No one has left a comment yet
Place qoute
Interesting offers

Luxury penthouse

€ 2 500 000

New apartment in Limassol

€ 277 500

Hotel for sale in Limassol

€ 4 800 000

House for sale in Limassol

€ 1 200 000

Villa for sale in Cyprus

€ 2 700 000

Penthouse for sale in Limassol

€ 365 000

House for sale

€ 750 000

Cozy apartment in Paphos

€ 229 950

Giant house in a picturesque place

€ 1 800 000

Villa for rent in Limassol

€ 10 000
Компания «Dom Real Estate» Контакты:
Адрес: Limassol, Cyprus,
Телефон:+357 25 212 212, Электронная почта: info@dom.com.cy

Хроники кипрской саги о паспортах. Часть 33

Хроники кипрской саги о паспортах. Часть 33
16 Октября 2021 DOM LiVE
936

Совет министров принял решение начать процесс лишения кипрского гражданства 39 иностранных инвесторов и 6 членов их семей.

Кроме того, отменены предыдущие поправки относительно законности натурализации членов семей, находящегося на иждивении инвесторов.

Об этом в пятницу, 16 октября, заявил официальный представитель правительства Мариос Пелеканос.

По словам Пелеканоса, Совет министров также постановил продолжить расследование 6 дел о выдаче «золотых» паспортов, а также взять на постоянный контроль ещё 47 дел в соответствии с установленными процедурами.

К слову, ранее Следственный комитет во главе с Мироном Николатосом заявил, что более половины из 3 000 гражданств, предоставленных правительством Кипра в период с 2007 года по август 2020 года в рамках кипрской программы «Гражданство за инвестиции», были незаконными. Комитет рекомендовал отозвать паспорта у 102 новоиспечённых киприотов.

Как отметил Пелеканос, компетентное подразделение Министерства внутренних дел, изучив выводы, представило Совету министров конкретные предложения, которые он одобрил.

Пелеканос подчеркнул, что в некоторых случаях, когда комитет рекомендовал лишить иностранцев кипрского гражданства было установлено, что все критерии инвестиционной программы соблюдены. Расследование показало, что они все ещё владеют недвижимостью, поэтому нет никаких юридических оснований для лишения их гражданства.

Наконец, Пелеканос сказал, что в ближайшее время решение Совета министров будет доведено до сведения Европейской комиссии.

Хроники кипрской саги о паспортах. Часть 33

Напомним, что расследование дел о незаконной выдаче «золотых» паспортов началось после публикации секретного видео, записанного Al Jazeera, на котором Христакис Джованис и бывший президент Палаты представителей Димитрис Силлурис предлагают помощь фиктивному китайскому бизнесмену с криминальным прошлым в получении гражданства.

Канал выступил с утверждением, что около 1,4 тысяч человек, включая бизнесменов из РФ, Вьетнама и Китая, необоснованно получили кипрские паспорта по программе «Гражданство за инвестиции», поскольку на момент рассмотрения заявок были под подозрением в совершении преступлений или даже в международном розыске. Оппозиция потребовала от властей объяснений, правительство занялось расследованием вокруг программы, хотя и отметило «подтасовку фактов» со стороны телеканала.

В свою очередь, Брюссель был шокирован секретным расследованием катарского телеканала Al Jazeera, в котором высшие политические круги Кипра готовы помочь осуждённым преступникам получить гражданство, а также предоставить им доступ на внутренние рынки Европейского Союза и безвизовый режим.

В октябре 2020 года Европейская комиссия начала проверку на соответствие законам ЕС практики Кипра, когда в обмен на инвестиции в экономику можно получить гражданство. Властям страны было направлено соответствующее уведомление. Брюссель дал 2 месяца Кипру, чтобы прояснить сложившуюся ситуацию.

Кипр для расследования громкого скандала назначил Специальный комитет. Параллельно независимым расследованием занялся генеральный аудитор страны, которому по неизвестными причинам постоянно оказывают сопротивление. На острове провели серию публичных слушаний.

Наконец, 22 июня, офис генерального прокурора Кипра обнародовал окончательный отчёт Следственного комитета, который под руководством Мирона Николатоса занимался расследованием дел о незаконной выдаче «золотых» паспортов. Досье, размером в 780 страниц было значительно отредактировано. Из него в целях безопасности убрали имена и некоторые личные данные инвесторов.

Длительное расследование пролило свет на массу нарушений. 

Хроники кипрской саги о паспортах. Часть 33

Читать далее:

  • Хроники кипрской саги о паспортах. Часть 32 (ссылка)
  • Хроники кипрской саги о паспортах. Часть 31 (ссылка)
  • Хроники кипрской саги о паспортах. Часть 30 (ссылка)
  • Хроники кипрской саги о паспортах. Часть 29 (ссылка)
  • Хроники кипрской саги о паспортах. Часть 28 (ссылка)
  • Хроники кипрской саги о паспортах. Часть 27 (ссылка)
Source: stockwatch.com.cy
Photos: pixabay.com
Еще никто не оставил комментарий
Оставьте свой комментарий...
Интересные предложения

Инвестиционный проект в Лимассоле

€ 1 230 000

Роскошные апартаменты в Лимассоле

€ 670 000

Гигантский дом в живописном месте

€ 1 800 000

Купить пентхаус в Лимассоле

€ 365 000

Продажа усадьбы в Лимассоле

€ 2 000 000

Вилла на Кипре

€ 2 700 000

Аренда здания в Лимассоле

€ 25 000

Отличный дом в Лимассоле

€ 3 500

Недорогой дом в Пафосе

€ 360 000

Роскошная вилла в Лимассоле

€ 3 300 000
Компания «Dom Real Estate» Контакты:
Адрес: Limassol, Cyprus,
Телефон:+357 25 212 212, Электронная почта: info@dom.com.cy