How to protect your Cyprus home from theft while on vacation?

Как на Кипре обезопасить своё жильё от краж во время отпуска?
30 August 2021 DOM LiVE
1085 0

After a long quarantine, the residents of Cyprus finally got the opportunity to go on a long-awaited vacation.

Therefore, starting in mid-August, abandoning all business and gathering their families in armfuls, some moved from stuffy cities to mountain villages or hotels on the seacoast, while others went to visit relatives and friends outside the island.

Anyone who has lived in Cyprus for a long time knows that a carefree vacation can be a big grief if, on your return, you find a broken lock and an empty apartment. Unfortunately, this is not uncommon in Cyprus. Vacation season is a “hot season” for thieves.

It would seem that there is nothing to worry about a two-week absence! Just a few hours will be enough for an experienced burglar to clean out your apartment. At the same time, it is not difficult to calculate empty real estate today - observation and experience help criminals. The owners of housing on the island, who publish detailed reports on their whereabouts on social networks, often become ideal "spotters".

First, the reckless vacationer takes the last selfie at home, then checks in at the airport and complains about the long flight, and the next day publishes a winning photo by the pool. And now - the attacker knows for sure that the victim's apartment is now empty and defenseless.

According to local police, the number of similar incidents in Cyprus in the summer is on the rise, especially in the Paphos area.

How can you secure your home during a long absence? We offer you some effective advice, using which you can guarantee to protect your property not only from theft, but also from other unforeseen situations.

Insure your apartment and property

Property insurance services are provided by a number of insurance companies in Cyprus. The price usually includes protection against fire and flooding, falling trees, damage to property as a result of major repairs or reconstruction of neighboring premises, natural emergencies and illegal actions of third parties (built-in and cabinet furniture, household appliances and electronics, etc. are insured). In addition, you will be protected from liability to neighbors in the event of communal accidents.

But do not forget that it is necessary to start issuing a policy in advance - it will be valid no earlier than 14 days after the day of payment. If your apartment has a mortgage, then you already have an insurance policy, which is mandatory for an encumbered apartment. Contact your agent to find out what claims your policy covers.

Arming your property

Arranging the arming of the apartment is not difficult. First, decide whether you need a video surveillance installation or not. In the absence of video cameras, sensors are installed in the apartment that react to various actions of intruders. Information about penetration into the apartment is transmitted to the central control panel of the security company. A few minutes later, a rapid response team arrives at the site.

The cost of the service is calculated individually and depends on the amount of equipment and the sensor model. Minimum package: at the entrance to the apartment, a device is installed with a button panel for arming and disarming the apartment from the alarm, two motion sensors and a door opening sensor. Installation work takes 2-3 hours. The service will cost an average of 70-80 euros per month in Cyprus.

Protect your valuables

If valuables, money, and important documents remain in the apartment or house, we recommend placing them in a rented safe deposit box (individual bank safe). This service is provided by many banks in Cyprus. Another simple way is to give valuable property for safekeeping to relatives or friends.

If the previous options do not suit you, take pictures of valuables, rewrite the serial numbers of electronic equipment, save the images in email or on the "cloud". These measures will assist in the search for property by the police in the event of an adverse incident.

Conduct a routine inspection. Shut off the water and turn off the appliances

Carefully inspect all engineering systems and communications. Check the integrity of the water supply pipes, their joints, valves and flexible piping for mixers, most often water leakage occurs precisely due to worn out communications. Unplug TV, computer and other household appliances from electrical outlets. An exception may be a refrigerator, router and air conditioner. Ideally, turn off the electrical panel.

Reliable doors and windows - a protective minimum

It's no secret that the apartments on the lower floors are the most delicious objects for burglars. In 70% of cases, thieves get inside the house through the windows. At the same time, in some situations, they break the glass, and sometimes it is enough to slightly loosen the old frame or push a special device through a loosely closed window. First of all, in the risk zone, apartments and houses, reliably hidden from prying eyes thanks to bushes or trees.

The classic protection in such a situation is metal grilles. But we must admit that they are outdated for a long time. Firstly, few people like to feel like a prisoner in their own house, and the bars not only spoil the view, but additionally shade not the lightest apartments on the lower floors. Secondly, in the event of a fire, protection from thieves can complicate evacuation and cause tragedy. Therefore, it is better to protect windows with a special shock-resistant film. It will give the glass additional strength - to break them, attackers will need at least an ax.

Hacking the door is the second main method of burglars. At the same time, most often criminals physically open locks, and do not pick up master keys for them. The security of your home largely depends on the class of the door. There are more than a dozen degrees of burglary resistance. But, unfortunately, household doors in Cyprus are rarely more reliable than the fourth stage. As professionals say, almost any door can be hacked. However, burglars cannot waste their time, so they will rarely get involved with a complex non-standard lock and a serious metal structure - it is easier to find another victim.

Take care of information security

Do not talk about the dates of your absence on social networks, instruct the children, they are often the source of information by naivety. On the contrary, inform your relatives and friends in detail so that they can look after the apartment or house and take mail and receipts from the mailbox - an overflowing mailbox can be a signal for intruders about your absence.

Leave the keys to a trusted person

Hand over one set of keys for your home to a trusted person, this will help you to quickly take action in case of utility breakdowns. It is even better if you can agree on periodic inspections of the apartment, for example, every 3-5 days. This is ideal if you have a lot of houseplants at home or if you have aquarium fish that are difficult to attach to friends or to a pet hotel.

To make it nice to come back

Make sure that when you return home, there is drinking water, food for "light" snacks, baby food, if you are planning a trip with children. Do the cleaning and prepare fresh towels and linens. Check your supplies of household chemicals - powder, toothpaste, soap and shampoo. Check the refrigerator and cabinets in the kitchen, throw away perishable food, and don't forget to take out the trash.

That's all! Have a great trip!

If you are looking for profitable options for renting or buying a home in Cyprus, then be sure to check out DOM Real Estate portal. The website contains the largest database of real estate. More than 20,000 properties in Limassol, Paphos and Larnaca.

Read more:

  • Advantages and disadvantages of buying property in Larnaca (link)
  • Investment in real estate in Cyprus (link)
  • Permanent residence permit in Cyprus (link)
  • What is the Best Time of the Year to Rent and Rent Out a Property in Cyprus? (link)
  • Types of property in Cyprus (link)
  • Rules for inspecting an apartment / house you want to rent in Cyprus (link)
  • Studio vs. 1 bedroom apartment in Cyprus. Which one is right for you? (link)
Source: DOM
Photos: pixabay.com
No one has left a comment yet
Place qoute
Interesting offers
2

Buy new apartment in Limassol

€ 2 105 000

4 level penthouse near the sea

€ 10 000

Villa for sale in Limassol

€ 1 200 000

Buy apartment in Limassol

€ 1 700 000

Modern 3-storey building for rent

€ 21 000

House for sale

€ 750 000

Villa for sale in Limassol

€ 3 200 000

Hotel for sale in Limassol

€ 4 800 000

Penthouse for rent in Limassol

€ 12 000

Villa for sale in Limassol

€ 1 190 000
Компания «Dom Real Estate» Контакты:
Адрес: Limassol, Cyprus,
Телефон:+357 25 212 212, Электронная почта: info@dom.com.cy

Как на Кипре обезопасить своё жильё от краж во время отпуска?

Как на Кипре обезопасить своё жильё от краж во время отпуска?
30 Августа 2021 Liza Medvetskaya
3152

После затяжного карантина, жители Кипра наконец-то получили возможность отправиться в долгожданный отпуск.

Поэтому, начиная с середины августа, забросив все дела и собрав домашних в охапку, одни перебрались из душных городов в горные деревни либо в отели у моря, а другие – отправились навестить родственников и друзей за пределами острова.

Тот, кто давно живёт на Кипре, знает, что беззаботный отдых может стать большим огорчением, если по возвращении обнаружишь взломанный замок и пустую квартиру. К сожалению, на Кипре это не редкость. Сезон отпусков - «горячая пора» для воров.

Казалось бы, нечего беспокоиться из-за двухнедельного отсутствия! Вот только на то, чтобы обчистить ваши апартаменты, опытному домушнику хватит и нескольких часов. При этом вычислить пустующую недвижимость сегодня не составляет никакого труда – преступникам помогает наблюдательность и опыт. Идеальными «наводчиками» нередко становятся сами владельцы жилья на острове, которые публикуют в социальных сетях подробные отчёты о своём местонахождении.

Сначала беспечный отпускник делает последнее «селфи» дома, потом «чекинится» в аэропорту и жалуется на долгий перелёт, а на следующий день публикует победное фото у бассейна. И вот – злоумышленник точно знает, что квартира жертвы сейчас пуста и беззащитна.

По сообщениям местной полиции, количество подобных происшествий летом на Кипре резко возрастает, особенно в районе Пафоса.

Как же обезопасить своё жилье во время длительного отсутствия? Предлагаем вам несколько действенных советов, пользуясь которыми вы сможете гарантированно защитить вашу недвижимость не только от краж, но и от других непредвиденных ситуаций.

Застрахуйте квартиру и имущество

Услугу страхования имущества предоставляют ряд страховых компаний на Кипре. В стоимость обычно входит защита от пожара и затопления, падения деревьев, порчи имущества в результате капитального ремонта или переустройства соседних помещений, чрезвычайные стихийные ситуации и противоправные действия третьих лиц (страхуется встроенная и корпусная мебель, бытовая техника и электроника и т.д.). Кроме того, вы будете защищены от ответственности перед соседями в случае коммунальных аварий.

Но не забывайте, что начать оформление полиса необходимо заранее — он будет действовать не ранее чем через 14 дней после дня оплаты. Если ваша квартира оформлена в ипотеку, то у вас уже есть страховой полис, который является обязательным для квартиры с обременением. Свяжитесь с вашим агентом и выясните, какие страховые случаи покрывает ваш полис.

Поставьте недвижимость на охрану

Организовать постановку квартиры на охрану несложно. Для начала определитесь, нужна вам установка видеонаблюдения или нет. При отсутствии видеокамер в квартире устанавливаются датчики, которые реагируют на разные действия злоумышленников. Информация о проникновении в квартиру передаётся на центральный пульт управления охранного предприятия. Через несколько минут на объект приезжает группа быстрого реагирования.

Стоимость услуги рассчитывается индивидуально и зависит от количества оборудования и модели датчиков. Минимальный пакет: при входе в квартиру устанавливается прибор с кнопочной панелью для постановки и снятия квартиры с сигнализации, два датчика движения и датчик открывания двери. Работы по монтажу занимают 2-3 часа. Обслуживание в среднем обойдётся на Кипре в 70-80 евро в месяц.

Защитите ценные вещи

Если в квартире или доме остаются ценные вещи, деньги, важные документы, рекомендуем поместить их на хранение в арендованную банковскую ячейку (индивидуальный банковский сейф). Такую услугу предоставляют многие банки на Кипре. Другой простой способ — отдать ценное имущество на хранение родственникам или знакомым.

Если предыдущие варианты вам не подходят, сфотографируйте ценные вещи, перепишите заводские номера электронной техники, сохраните изображения в электронной почте или на «облаке». Эти меры помогут в поиске имущества полицией при неблагоприятном происшествии. 

Проведите профилактический осмотр. Перекройте воду и выключите приборы

Внимательно осмотрите все инженерные системы и коммуникации. Проверьте целостность труб водоснабжения, места их соединения, вентили и гибкую подводку для смесителей, чаще всего утечка воды происходит именно из-за изношенности коммуникаций. Выключите телевизор, компьютер и другую бытовую технику из розеток. Исключением может быть холодильник, роутер и кондиционер. В идеале отключить электрический щиток.

Надёжные двери и окна – защитный минимум

Не секрет, что квартиры на нижних этажах – самые лакомые объекты для грабителей. В 70% случаев воры проникают внутрь дома именно через окна. При этом в некоторых ситуациях они разбивают стёкла, а иногда бывает достаточно слегка расшатать старую раму или просунуть специальное приспособление через неплотно закрытое окно. Прежде всего в зоне риска квартиры и дома, надёжно скрытые от чужих глаз благодаря кустам или деревьям.

Классическая защита в такой ситуации – металлические решётки. Но нужно признать, что они давно морально устарели. Во-первых, мало кому нравится чувствовать себя узником в собственном доме, а решётки не только портят вид, но и дополнительно затеняют не самые светлые квартиры на нижних этажах. Во-вторых, в случае пожара защита от воров может осложнить эвакуацию и стать причиной трагедии. Поэтому лучше защищать окна специальной противоударной плёнкой. Она придаст стёклам дополнительную прочность - чтобы разбить их, злоумышленникам понадобится, как минимум, топор.

Взломать дверь – второй основной метод квартирных воров. При этом чаще всего преступники физически вскрывают замки, а не подбирают к ним отмычки. Защищённость вашего жилья во многом зависит от класса двери. Существует более десятка степеней устойчивости к взлому. Но, к сожалению, бытовые двери на Кипре редко бывают надёжнее четвёртой ступени. Как отмечают профессионалы, взломать можно практически любую дверь. Однако грабителям дорого время, поэтому они редко станут связываться со сложным нестандартным замком и серьёзной металлической конструкцией – проще найти другую жертву. 

Позаботьтесь об информационной защите

Не распространяйтесь о датах своего отсутствия в социальных сетях, проинструктируйте детей, часто именно они по наивности становятся источником информации. Родственников и друзей, наоборот, подробно проинформируйте, чтобы они могли присматривать за квартирой или домом и забирать почту и квитанции из почтового ящика — переполненный ящик может стать сигналом для злоумышленников о вашем отсутствии.

Оставьте ключи доверенному лицу

Передайте один комплект ключей о вашего жилья доверенному лицу, это поможет оперативно принять меры в случае коммунальных аварий. Ещё лучше, если удастся договориться о периодических проверках квартиры, например, раз в 3-5 дней. Это идеальный вариант, если у вас дома много комнатных растений, есть аквариумные рыбки, которых сложно пристроить к друзьям или в отель для питомцев.

Чтобы было приятно вернуться

Позаботьтесь о том, чтобы по возвращении дома была питьевая вода, продукты для «лёгкого» перекуса, детское питание, если вы планируете путешествие с детьми. Сделайте уборку, подготовьте свежие полотенца и постельное белье. Проверьте запасы бытовой химии — порошка, зубной пасты, мыла и шампуня. Проведите ревизию холодильника и шкафов на кухне, выбросите скоропортящиеся продукты и не забудьте вынести мусор.

Вот и все! Отличного путешествия!

Если вы в поисках выгодных вариантов для аренды или покупки жилья на Кипре, то обязательно загляните на DOM. На сайте представлена самая большая база недвижимости. Более 20 000 объектов в Лимассоле, Пафосе и Ларнаке.

Читать далее:

  • Преимущества и недостатки покупки недвижимости в Ларнаке (ссылка)
  • Инвестиции в недвижимость Кипра (ссылка)
  • ПМЖ на Кипре - постоянный вид на жительство через инвестиции в недвижимость (ссылка)
  • В какое время года лучше всего снимать и сдавать жильё на Кипре? (ссылка)
  • Все виды недвижимости Кипра (ссылка)
  • Правила осмотра квартиры или дома для аренды на Кипре (ссылка)
  • Что лучше: студия или односпальная квартира на Кипре? (ссылка)
Source: DOM
Photos: pixabay.com
Еще никто не оставил комментарий
Оставьте свой комментарий...
Интересные предложения

Потрясающая вилла в Писсури

€ 999 000

Роскошный пентхаус

€ 2 500 000

Вилла на Кипре

€ 2 700 000

Купить виллу в Лимассоле

€ 1 200 000

Аренда особняка в Лимассоле

€ 14 000

Купить квартиру в Лимассоле

€ 4 500 000

Вилла в Писсури

€ 325 000

Купить пентхаус в Лимассоле

€ 365 000

Отличный дом в Лимассоле

€ 4 400

Роскошная вилла в Пафосе

€ 887 000
Компания «Dom Real Estate» Контакты:
Адрес: Limassol, Cyprus,
Телефон:+357 25 212 212, Электронная почта: info@dom.com.cy