44 Foreign Investors May Lose Their Golden Passports

44 иностранных инвестора могут лишиться гражданства Кипра
4 June 2021 Liza Medvetskaya
2436

The head of the Investigative Committee for the Golden passports case, Myron Nikolatos, said on Thursday, June 3 that the number of investors facing deprivation of Cypriot citizenship has doubled.

According to the final dossier, which is expected to be handed over on Monday, June 7, in the hands of the country's attorney general, members of the Commission will recommend that the passports of 44 foreigners be canceled. As you may know, the figure was 22 in the interim report.

Along with 100 additional high-risk cases recorded in the final report, the Commission will be asked to consider, in accordance with article 113 of the Civil Registry Law 2002 (141(I)/2002), the possibility of depriving about 44 foreign investors of Golden passports, Nikolatos emphasized.

We must admit that these changes are explained by the fact that the Commission's employees carried out a thorough examination of the documents of directors and managers of companies. According to Nikolatos, during the investigation of the cases, it became clear that "some of them were also naturalized outside the legal framework."

Thus, in addition to an increase in the number of cases, the volume of illegal naturalizations will also grow to 53% (in the interim report, this figure was 51.8%).

44 иностранных инвестора могут лишиться гражданства Кипра

Meanwhile, the Attorney-General of Cyprus rejected the request of the Investigative Committee to extend their term of office by 2 days for a more detailed investigation of some of the files. George L. Savvides noted that the members of the Committee are obliged to submit their opinion within the strictly specified time frame, i.e. on June 7, when 1 year expires from the moment of the beginning of the investigation.

In addition, Savvides noted that the main part of the interim report is now under the microscope of the police, which are investigating high-risk naturalization cases. The Attorney-General stressed that the police promised to soon provide him with the results of their investigation.

It should be mentioned that a new Investigative Group was created in law enforcement agencies a few days ago, which will have to study problem cases with Golden passports. It is known that the Investigation Team included 10 experienced investigators seconded from the TAE (Crime Investigation Departments) of all provinces.

The main goal of the new group is to investigate 112 cases of illegal naturalizations, which are described in detail on the 500 pages of the interim dossier of the Investigative Commission, headed by Myron Nikolatos.

Read more:

  • Chronicles of the Cyprus Passport Saga. Part 21 (link)
  • Chronicles of the Cyprus Passport Saga. Part 23 (link)
  • Chronicles of the Cyprus Passport Saga. Part 24 (link)
  • Chronicles of the Cyprus Passport Saga. Part 25 (link)
Source: stockwatch.com.cy
Photos: pixabay.com, stockwatch.com.cy
No one has left a comment yet
Place qoute
New objects

Apartment for sale

€ 400 000

Apartment for sale

€ 160 000

Apartment for sale

€ 95 000

House for sale

€ 499 000

Apartment for sale

€ 1 350 000

Flat for rent

€ 2 600

€ 6 000

Apartment for sale

€ 420 000

House for sale

€ 420 000

Flat for rent

€ 4 000
Компания «Dom Real Estate» Контакты:
Адрес: Limassol, Cyprus,
Телефон:+357 25 212 212, Электронная почта: info@dom.com.cy

44 иностранных инвестора могут лишиться гражданства Кипра

44 иностранных инвестора могут лишиться гражданства Кипра
4 Июня 2021 Liza Medvetskaya
2475

В четверг, 3 июня, глава Следственной комиссии по расследованию дел с «золотыми» паспортами Мирон Николатос заявил, что количество инвесторов, которым грозит лишение кипрского гражданства, увеличилось вдвое.

Согласно окончательному досье, которое, как ожидается, будет передано в понедельник, 7 июня, в руки генпрокурора страны, члены Комиссии будут рекомендовать аннулировать паспорта у 44 иностранцев. Напомним, что в промежуточном отчёте эта цифра равнялась 22.

Наряду со 100 дополнительными случаями повышенного риска, зафиксированными в окончательном отчёте, Комиссией будет предложено рассмотреть в соответствии со статьёй 113 Закона о демографическом учёте, возможность лишения «золотых» паспортов около 44 иностранных инвесторов, - подчеркнул Николатос.

Надо сказать, что эти изменения объясняются тем фактом, что сотрудники Комиссии провели тщательный досмотр документов директоров и менеджеров компаний. По словам Николатоса, в ходе расследования дел стало ясно, что «некоторые из них также были натурализованы вне правовых рамок».

Таким образом, помимо увеличения количества дел, по которым предлагается аннулировать гражданство Кипра, вырастет и объём незаконных натурализаций до 53% (в промежуточном отчёте этот показатель был равен 51,8%).

44 иностранных инвестора могут лишиться гражданства Кипра

Тем временем, генпрокурор Кипра отклонил прошение Следственного комитета о продлении сроков его полномочий на 2 дня для более детального расследования некоторых файлов. Йоргос Саввидес отметил, что члены Комитета обязаны сдать своё заключение в строго указанные сроки, т.е. 7 июня, когда истекает 1 год с момента начала расследования.

Кроме того, Саввидес отметил, что основная часть промежуточного отчёта сейчас находится под микроскопом полиции, которая расследует выявленные случаи высокорисковой натурализации. Генпрокурор подчеркнул, что полиция обещала вскоре предоставить ему итоги своего расследования.

Нужно упомянуть, что на днях в правоохранительных органах была создана новая Следственная группа, которая должна будет изучить проблемные дела с «золотыми» паспортами. Известно, что в состав Следственной группы вошли 10 опытных следователей, откомандированных из TAE (штаб квартир полиции Кипра) всех провинций. 

Главная цель новой группы - расследовать 112 случаев незаконных натурализаций, которые детально описаны на 500 страницах промежуточного досье Следственной комиссии во главе с Мироном Николатосом. 

Читать далее:

  • Хроники кипрской саги о паспортах. Часть 21 (ссылка)
  • Хроники кипрской саги о паспортах. Часть 22 (ссылка)
  • Хроники кипрской саги о паспортах. Часть 23 (ссылка)
  • Хроники кипрской саги о паспортах. Часть 24 (ссылка)
  • Хроники кипрской саги о паспортах. Часть 25 (ссылка)
Source: stockwatch.com.cy
Photos: pixabay.com, stockwatch.com.cy
Еще никто не оставил комментарий
Оставьте свой комментарий...
Новые объекты

Продается квартира

€ 400 000

Продается квартира

€ 420 000

Продается квартира

€ 405 000

Продается квартира

€ 405 000

Продается квартира

€ 245 000

Продается квартира

€ 268 000

Продается квартира

€ 348 000

Продается коммерческая недвижимость

€ 1 780 000

Продается квартира

€ 240 000

Продается дом

€ 350 000
Компания «Dom Real Estate» Контакты:
Адрес: Limassol, Cyprus,
Телефон:+357 25 212 212, Электронная почта: info@dom.com.cy