Accommodation for students in Cyprus

Квартира для студента на Кипре
29 March 2021 DOM LiVE
3225 0

Higher education in Cyprus is prestigious, interesting and not as expensive as universities in other EU countries. But freshmen and their parents always have concerns about where the student should live, what they should eat and how they should communicate with locals in a foreign country. And of course, it's worth starting with the choice of housing.

1. Dormitory, renting or buying property?

The first thing that is associated with the phrase "foreign student" is a university dormitory. This option is often cheaper and more convenient. The university is nearby, and your freshman is surrounded by other freshmen.

But not everyone wants to live in a student dormitory (or hostels as some call them). Conditions are not suitable for everyone, and getting this place is not so easy, as you need to prepare all documents in advance.

Therefore, many parents, when sending their big kids to study in another country, think about a separate apartment or room. There are many options: someone buys real estate and moves to live in Cyprus with their child while they are studying. Others buy a small living space so that the student can rent it out or sell it after graduation. Still others are considering renting.

Everything has their pros and cons. But, if we are talking about the fact that the student does not live in a dormitory, it’s still better to think about buying a home in Cyprus. At the very least, this is a safe investment. Apartments will continue to rise in value for at least five years. As a maximum: after graduation, the student may want to stay on the island.

2. Where is it better to buy or rent an apartment for a student in Cyprus?

First of all, it all depends on the location of the university. Five of the seven universities in Cyprus are located in the capital Nicosia, so let's start with this city.

2.1. Student housing in Nicosia

Nicosia is the only capital in the EU divided into two "states". The southern part belongs to the Republic of Cyprus, and the northern part belongs to the unrecognized TRNC.

Considering this fact, it is worth choosing housing in the southern part of the capital. Universities are located very close to the center. You can buy or rent an apartment here, however, they cost more than in the suburbs. If possible, pay attention to the areas of Agioi Omologites, Palouriotissa, Agios Dometios, Engomi.

Slightly cheaper, but also convenient for living and studying at the university, are the districts of Aglandjia, Strovolos, Platy, Makedonitissa and Latsia. Here you can buy or rent an apartment at an affordable price.

Advice: quite often students live together (2-4 people) and rent an apartment. It is more convenient than living in a student dormitory, and cheaper than renting a living space alone.

In Nicosia, public transport runs well enough, so that the students don't have problems getting to the university. And if you know that Nicosia is one of the most developed and densely populated cities in Cyprus, then there will be no difficulties with other aspects of life.

By the way, in Nicosia you can easily find English-speaking people and facilities that provide services in English. In addition, many of the government offices that that foreigners need to visit are located in Nicosia.

2.2. Student housing in Paphos

Paphos is home to the multidisciplinary University of Neapolis, which is located in the heart of the city. However, this does not mean that it is necessary to look for housing in the nearest location.

Paphos is a small city where it is easy to get around by car, public transport, bike or on foot. Perhaps it is possible to find a good apartment some distance from the center, but in a good area.

Many people pay attention to Neapolis, Moutallos and Melanos. The suburb of Paphos is also a great option, especially if you have your own car. For example, in Chloraka, Emba or Geroskipou it is quite calm and comfortable. At the same time, the trip to the center of Paphos without traffic jams takes no longer than 10 minutes.

2.3. Student housing in Limassol

Limassol is a large and dynamic city, young people are never bored here. In addition, a lot of Europeans live in Limassol, which is convenient for those who feel insecure when studying in a foreign language.

There are two universities in Limassol: Frederick University and a branch of the University of Nicosia. They are not so far from the center, so you can choose almost any area for living.

The historical part and the center of Limassol are old houses, there are practically no new buildings here. But the prices in these areas are the most biting. Developed and lively areas are Neapolis and Mesa Geitonia.

If you are not afraid of the remoteness from the center, but at the same time you want peace and quiet, you can pay attention to the nearest suburb. These are Kato Polemidia, Agios Athanasios and Germasogeia. Also, good places include Mouttagiaka and Zakaki.

2.4. Student housing in Larnaca

Larnaca also has a branch of the University of Nicosia. Larnaca is a quiet and calm city that lives a hectic life only in season and only along the coastline.

Otherwise, it is a peaceful ancient city with low housing prices. Its advantages are the proximity of beautiful natural and architectural attractions, as well as the airport. This is important if relatives want to visit the student more often.

3. What apartment should a student choose in Cyprus

The simplest and cheapest option is a studio apartment. It is compact in size, cozy and does not require large utilities. For the first time, this is perhaps just perfect. Buying or renting a studio will cost significantly less than purchasing a full-fledged apartment.

Another question is if the parents want to move with their kid. If so, then they need to choose apartments that are more spacious, with at least two bedrooms. Sometimes the best option is buying a private house in the suburbs. The disadvantage of living at home is that you have to go to the city center all the time, but this is not a problem for everyone.

Finally, the purchase of real estate can be a reason to move. When buying an apartment or a villa in the amount of EUR 300 thousand, a foreign citizen gets the right to obtain permanent residence in Cyprus, quickly and easily. For the buyer and the whole family. Therefore, when choosing a property, you need to focus not only on the main goal such as student education, but also on additional ideas and tasks.

The website DOM has over 20,000 properties in Cyprus. A selection of housing with photographs, expert advice, useful articles and live hacks, this can be very useful if you want to move to Cyprus for the purpose of study, work or travel.

Read more:

  • Buying property in Cyprus to live with children (link)
  • Cyprus–United Kingdom specific relations (link)
  • Why do we love Cyprus so much? (link)
  • 10 reasons for moving to Cyprus with children (link)
  • Holidays and days off in Cyprus in 2021 (link)
Source: DOM LiVE
Photos: pixabay.com
No one has left a comment yet
Place qoute
Interesting offers

Investment project in Limassol

€ 1 230 000

Luxury penthouse

€ 2 500 000

Cozy apartment in Paphos

€ 229 950

House for sale in Paphos

€ 380 000

New duplex in an elite complex

€ 572 000

Apartment for rent in Paphos

€ 800

Villa for sale in Limassol

€ 3 300 000

Villa with sea views in Pissouri

€ 1 450 000

House in Paphos

€ 360 000

Panoramic sea views!

€ 6 000
Компания «Dom Real Estate» Контакты:
Адрес: Limassol, Cyprus,
Телефон:+357 25 212 212, Электронная почта: info@dom.com.cy

Квартира для студента на Кипре

Квартира для студента на Кипре
29 Марта 2021 DOM LiVE
615 0

Высшее образование на Кипре – это престижно, интересно и не так дорого, как в вузах других европейских стран.

Но у первокурсников и их родителей всегда остаются тревоги по поводу того, где студент будет жить, что кушать и как общаться с людьми в чужой стране. И конечно, начать стоит с главного - выбора жилья.

1. Общежитие, съем или покупка недвижимости?

Первое, что ассоциируется с фразой «иностранный студент» – это общежитие. Зачастую данный вариант дешевле, надёжнее и удобнее. ВУЗ находится рядом, а сам первокурсник окружён такими же студентами.

Но не все согласны жить в студенческих хостелах – именно так называются общежития на Кипре. Не всем подходят условия, да и получить место через университет – не так-то просто.

Поэтому многие родители, отправляя своего выпускника учиться в другую страну, задумываются об отдельной недвижимости. Здесь много вариантов развития событий: кто-то покупает недвижимость и уезжает жить на Кипре вместе со своим ребёнком, пока он проходит обучение. Другие приобретают небольшую жилплощадь, чтобы студент мог после окончания вуза сдать или продать её. Третьи и вовсе рассматривают вариант аренды.

Все ситуации имеют свои плюсы и минусы. Но, если речь идёт о том, чтобы студент жил не в общежитии, все-таки лучше задуматься о покупке жилья на Кипре. Как минимум, это надёжная инвестиция. Квартиры продолжат расти в цене минимум пять лет. Как максимум: возможно, после выпуска студент захочет остаться жить на острове.

2. Где лучше купить или снять квартиру студенту на Кипре

В первую очередь, все зависит от расположения ВУЗа. Пять из семи университетов Кипра находится в столице Никосии, поэтому начать логично именно с этого города.

2.1. Жилье для студента в Никосии

Никосия – единственная в мире столица, разделённая на два «государства». Южная часть принадлежит Республике Кипр, а северная – непризнанной ТРСК. Иностранцу пребывать на северной части острова не стоит. Это может грозить депортацией.

Учитывая этот факт, жилье стоит подбирать в южной части столицы. ВУЗы располагаются очень близко к центру. Купить или арендовать квартиру здесь можно, правда, стоить это будет дороже, чем в пригороде. Если есть возможность – обратите внимание на районы Агиос Омологитес, Палуриотисса, Агиос Дометиос, Энгоми.

Чуть дешевле, но тоже удобны для проживания и учёбы в университете районы Агланджа, Строволос, Плати, Македонитисса и Латча. Здесь можно купить или снять квартиру по приемлемой цене.

Подсказка: нередко студенты объединяются по 2-4 человека и арендуют отдельную квартиру. Это удобнее, чем жить в студенческом хостеле, и дешевле, чем снимать жилплощадь в одиночку.

В Никосии достаточно хорошо ходит общественный транспорт, так что проблемы, как добраться до университета у студента не возникнет. А если учесть, что Никосия – один из самых развитых и густонаселённых городов Кипра, то и с остальными аспектами жизни трудностей не возникнет.

Кстати, в Никосии легко можно найти русскоговорящих людей и организации, которые оказывают услуги на русском языке. Кроме того, многие муниципальные учреждения, которые понадобятся иностранному гражданину, находятся именно в Никосии.

2.2. Жилье для студента в Пафосе

В Пафосе находится многопрофильный Университет Неаполис, который располагается в самом центре города. Однако это не значит, что необходимо подыскивать жилье в ближайшей локации.

Пафос – небольшой город, где легко передвигаться на автомобиле, общественном транспорте, велосипеде или пешком. Возможно, удастся найти хорошую квартиру в некотором удалении от центра, но в хорошем районе.

Многие обращают внимание на Неаполис, Муталлос и Меланос. Пригород Пафоса – тоже отличный вариант, особенно если есть собственное авто. Например, в Хлораке, Эмбе или Героскипу достаточно спокойно и уютно. При этом дорога до центра Пафоса по улицам без пробок занимает не дольше 10 минут.

2.3. Жилье для студентов в Лимассоле

Лимассол – большой и динамичный город, молодёжи здесь не бывает скучно. К тому же в Лимассоле проживает очень много русскоговорящих людей, что удобно для тех, кто чувствует себя неуверенно при обучении на неродном языке.

В Лимассоле располагается два вуза: Университет Фредерика и филиал Университета Никосии. Находятся они не так далеко от центра, поэтому для проживания можно выбрать практически любой район.

Историческая часть и центр Лимассола – это старая и плотная застройка, новых зданий здесь практически нет. Но цены в этих районах – самые кусачие. Развитые и оживлённые районы – это Неаполис и Меса Гитонья.

Если не пугает удалённость от центра, но при этом хочется тишины и спокойствия, можно обратить внимания на ближайший пригород. Это Като Полемидия, Агиос Афанасиос и Гермасойя. Также к неплохим местам относят Мутайяку и Закаки.

2.4. Жилье для студентов в Ларнаке

В Ларнаке тоже есть филиал Университета Никосии. Сама по себе Ларнака – тихий и спокойный город, который живёт бурной жизнью только в сезон и только вдоль береговой линии.

В остальном это – умиротворённый древний город с невысокими ценами на жилье. Его плюсы заключаются в близости красивый природных и архитектурных достопримечательностей, а также аэропорта. Это важно, если родственники хотят почаще навещать студента.

3. Какую квартиру выбрать студенту на Кипре

Самый простой и недорогой вариант - это квартира-студия. Она компактная по площади, уютная и не требует больших коммунальных расходов. Для первого времени это, пожалуй, просто идеально. Покупка или аренда студии обойдутся существенно дешевле, чем приобретение полноценных апартаментов.

Другой вопрос, если родители хотят переехать вместе с абитуриентом. Тогда нужно выбирать квартиры просторнее, как минимум с двумя спальнями. Иногда оптимальным вариантом становится покупка частного дома в пригороде. Минус дома - придётся все время ездить в центр города, но не для всех это является проблемой.

Наконец, приобретение недвижимости может стать поводом для переезда. При покупке апартаментов или виллы на сумму от 300 тысяч евро иностранный гражданин получает право ускоренного и упрощённого получения ПМЖ на Кипре. Причём не только для себя - но и для всей семьи. Поэтому при выборе недвижимости нужно ориентироваться не только на основную цель - обучение студента, но и на дополнительные идеи и задачи.

На сайте dom.com.cy более 20 000 объектов недвижимости на Кипре. Подборка жилья с фотографиями, консультации специалистов, полезные статьи и лайвхаки – это пригодится, если вы хотите переехать на Кипр с целью учёбы, работы или отдыха.

Читайте также:

  • Где русскому жить хорошо? На Кипре! (ссылка)
  • Покупка недвижимости на Кипре для жизни с детьми (ссылка)
  • Историческая взаимосвязь острова Кипр и Великобритании (ссылка)
  • За что мы так любим Кипр и почему здесь лучше, чем где бы то ни было? (ссылка)
  • 10 причин переехать жить на Кипр с детьми (ссылка)
  • Армия Кипра (ссылка)
  • Праздничные и выходные дни на Кипре в 2021 году (ссылка)
Source: DOM LiVE
Photos: pixabay.com
Еще никто не оставил комментарий
Оставьте свой комментарий...
Интересные предложения

Роскошная вилла в Лимассоле

€ 528 000

Дом престарелых

€ 5 800 000

Купить виллу в Лимассоле

€ 1 200 000

Уютная квартира в Пафосе

€ 229 950

Роскошные апартаменты в Лимассоле

€ 670 000

Квартира на берегу моря

€ 3 500
2

Продается отель в Лимассоле

€ 1 750 000

Продается дом в Пафосе

€ 380 000

Уютный дом в Лимассоле

€ 570 000

Купить пентхаус в Лимассоле

€ 365 000
Компания «Dom Real Estate» Контакты:
Адрес: Limassol, Cyprus,
Телефон:+357 25 212 212, Электронная почта: info@dom.com.cy