Accommodation for students in Cyprus

Жилье на Кипре для студентов
6 January 2021 DOM LiVE
3996

Foreigners often come to universities in Cyprus to study. For them the most important question is where the student will live while studying on the island? There are many answers, and it's better to explore all of them carefully.

University dormitory

The first thing that comes to mind is "dormitory". It is not just the same as we are used to, but the main idea is similar. Students are living in a room (single room or 2,3, 4-bedroom) which is located in the immediate vicinity of the educational institution. Thus, the students can save time and money on the road, as well as form their own small university “community”, which is so important for young people.

Cyprus "dormitories" are called "student hostels". They are located directly on the university campus or nearby. It is even possible to go to university by walking.

As we mentioned above the rooms can be designed for a different number of people: there are single rooms, there are double, three-bed and four-bed options. As you can guess, the single room is much more expensive than a four-bed one.

The room is fully furnished, it has everything for life and study:

  • bed
  • small wardrobe or chest of drawers
  • table and chairs
  • bookshelf
  • mini fridge
  • electricity and internet.

The bathroom and toilet can be for each room, one for two rooms, or one for the entire block / floor. The kitchen, as a rule, is designed for a large number of residents: it can be one on the floor or even in the entire building. But many students do not use the kitchen as a mini refrigerator and mini ovens in the room are enough for them, and they go to the canteens for full lunch.

If a student (especially a first-year student) has any problems or questions, he can always find help and support from friends, teachers and service personnel. "Dormitories" are especially good for those who need language practice: foreign students in the first year can tighten local languages up and adapt to life in a new country.

It can seem that there are no better accommodation options for a student...

But university hostels have their disadvantages:

  1. Most universities don't have enough rooms. Thus students need to book the place as early as possible, sometimes six months before the beginning of the school year.
  2. The cost of renting a room in a dormitory is not much different from renting a separate apartment. Moreover, a student often has to pay extra for utilities, internet, canteen, etc. A place in a dormitory costs an average of 300-500 euros per month. That can be compared with renting an ordinary apartment in the suburbs.
  3. You feel like a guest in your dormitory. As a rule, small rooms do not imply that they can be furnished to your own taste. Therefore, students often complain about the lack of comfort. Some people also lack privacy. This is more of a psychological rather than a practical side of the issue.

In general, we can say the following: a university dormitory is an excellent solution for a first-year student. He will not need to waste time on the road in an unknown city and country, everything he needs is within walking distance.

He will not be left alone as there will be comrades nearby who will help during difficult times. Also, the student will receive excellent language practice and will begin to speak Greek, and sometimes English.

Second and later year students sometimes stay in dormitories until the end, but usually move to other places. It all depends on how their personal and work life goes.

Important: Cypriot universities often offer an 'all-inclusive' program. This means that you can pay for the entire year of study (including room and meal in a student dormitory). This option offers a discount. This is convenient for many students: they make a single payment and do not worry about housing and meals all year round.

A studio or apartment for rent in Cyprus

Many students and their parents prefer rented housing to university housing.

There are several strong arguments for this:

  • own apartment with personal space
  • the opportunity to save money, if you rent an apartment for a long time, you can find an option cheaper than a room in a dormitory
  • close distance to other necessary places, which is important if a student has a part-time job and does not want to get to work for a long time
  • there is an option to live with university friends, renting 1-2-bedroom apartments for several people
  • If a student wants to live alone, the most suitable option for him is a studio apartment. This is a small apartment that has a kitchen and sleeping area together.

The advantages of a studio are that they are cheaper. The studio is easy to heat in winter (unlike large apartments). Also, the studio can be located near the sea, which will be a plus for a summer time stay in Cyprus.

The advantages of a studio are that they are cheaper. The studio is easy to heat in winter (unlike large apartments). Also, the studio can be located near the sea, which will be a plus for a summer time stay in Cyprus.

Apartments with one or more bedrooms are chosen by several people. Sometimes parents travel with their child to Cyprus to create all the conditions for learning for him.

Sometimes a student finds a soulmate, and they start to live together.

Important: you also need to book an apartment in Cyprus in advance: in many areas adjacent to universities, apartments are in great demand. Therefore, by the beginning of the school year, expensive and not convenient options remain.

To save money on renting an apartment, you can look for it further from universities, in typical residential areas. But in this case you need to spend time on the road. Usually, you will need to buy a car and get a driver's license.

Apartments and houses for sale in Cyprus

If opportunities permit, buying a house in Cyprus is an excellent solution for those who are going to study on the island. You don't have to look for an apartment or a place in a dormitory, you can dispose of the property of your own.

In addition, buying property in Cyprus is a great investment. Even if this is not elite housing, it will not lose it's value, thus it can always be sold if desired. And for the purchase of real estate worth 300 thousand euros, you can get a residence permit with the possibility of regular renewal.

Students often stay in Cyprus after their studies if they want to work here. Therefore, having an own apartment is the most convenient and rational option. If the student after finishing his study leaves the island, the property can be rented out to students, teachers, families, and vacationers.

Despite the fact that during the period of the pandemic, the demand for student housing has decreased, we cannot say that there is real lack of demand. Rather, the decline is temporary, as long as foreign students are on distance learning. As the situation in the world and in Cyprus stabilizes, the interest of students in real estate will increase again.

Cyprus real estate agency DOM has numerous housing options for students, graduate students and teachers. Finding a suitable apartment or house in the DOM database is easy, the filters will allow you to make a choice quickly and easily.

You can also ask a question to a specialist in the "Questions to a professional" section.

Read more:

  • Golf in Cyprus - courses and reviews (link)
  • Houses for sale in Cyprus (link)
  • All about real estate Cyprus (link)
  • Accommodation for students in Cyprus (link)
  • Buying property in Cyprus to live with children (link)
Source: DOM LiVE
Photos: pixabay.com, free images.google
No one has left a comment yet
Place qoute
Interesting offers

Hotel for sale in Paphos

€ 1 350 000

Penthouse for sale in Limassol

€ 3 000 000

House for sale in Limassol

€ 661 000

Buy apartment in Limassol

€ 500 000

Luxury penthouse

€ 2 500 000

House for sale in Limassol

€ 1 200 000

Manor for sale in Limassol

€ 2 000 000

Cozy apartment in Paphos

€ 229 950

Apartment for rent in Paphos

€ 800

Villa for sale in Limassol

€ 3 300 000
Компания «Dom Real Estate» Контакты:
Адрес: Limassol, Cyprus,
Телефон:+357 25 212 212, Электронная почта: info@dom.com.cy

Жилье на Кипре для студентов

Жилье на Кипре для студентов
6 Января 2021 DOM LiVE
879 0

В вузы Кипра часто приезжают учиться иностранцы. Самый главный вопрос – где студент будет жить, пока учится на острове? Вариантов много, и все их стоит рассмотреть с должной серьезностью.

Жилье при университетах Кипра

Первым на ум приходит «общежитие». Немного не в том виде, в каком мы привыкли его видеть, но с той же идеей. Студенты размещаются в комнате по 1-4 человека и находятся в непосредственной близости от учебного заведения. Таким образом, они экономят время и деньги на дорогу, а также формируют свою маленькую «общину», что так важно для молодежи.

Кипрские «общежития» носят название «студенческие хостелы». Они располагаются непосредственно на территории университета или рядом. На занятия можно ходить пешком.

Комнаты рассчитаны на разное количество проживающих: есть и односпальные номера, есть двуспальные, трехспальные и четырехспальные варианты. Соответственно, чем меньше народу – тем дороже будет арендовать такой номер.

Комната полностью меблирована, в ней есть все для жизни и учебы:

  • кровать
  • небольшой платяной шкаф или комод
  • стол и стулья
  • книжная полка
  • мини-холодильник
  • электричество и интернет.

Санузел может быть расположен по-разному: по одному на комнату, по одному на две комнаты или по одному на весь блок/этаж. Кухня, как правило, рассчитана на большое количество жильцов: она может быть одна на этаже или вовсе во всем хостеле. Но многие студенты не пользуются кухней – им достаточно мини-холодильника и мини-плитки в комнате, а «серьезно» питаться они ходят в столовую.

Если у студента (особенно первокурсника) возникают какие-то проблемы и вопросы, то он всегда найдет помощь и поддержку у друзей, преподавателей и обслуживающего персонала. Особенно хороши «общежития» для тех, кому требуется языковая практика: иностранные студенты за первый год хорошенько «подтягивают» язык и адаптируются к жизни в новой стране.

Казалось бы, что лучше для студента и придумать нельзя.

Но у университетских хостелов есть свои недостатки:

  1. В кипрских «общежитиях» всегда нехватка мест. Комнаты стараются занять как можно раньше – иногда комнату нужно бронировать за полгода до даты заселения.
  2. Стоимость аренды комнаты в хостеле немногим отличается от аренды отдельной квартиры. Причем часто студенту приходится доплачивать за коммунальные услуги, интернет, столовую и пр. В месяц студенческий хостел обходится в среднем 300-500 евро. Что может сравняться с арендой обычной квартиры в пригороде.
  3. В хостеле нельзя почувствовать себя хозяином. Как правило, небольшие комнаты не предполагают того, что их будут меблировать по собственному вкусу. Поэтому часто студенты жалуются на отсутствие уюта. А кому-то не хватает уединения. Это больше психологическая, а не практическая сторона вопроса.

Если делать общий вывод, то можно сказать следующее: для студента-первокурсника университетский хостел – отличное решение. Ему не нужно будет тратить время на дорогу в незнакомом городе и стране, все необходимое – в шаговой доступности.

Он не останется один – рядом окажутся такие же товарищи, которые помогут в трудный момент. Также студент получит отличную языковую практику и начнет хорошо говорить по-гречески, а иногда – и по-английски.

Учащиеся второго и последующих курсов иногда остаются в общежитиях до конца, а иногда съезжают в другие места. Все зависит от того, как складывается их личная и рабочая жизнь.

Важно: часто университеты Кипра предлагают программу по типу «все включено». Это значит, что можно оплатить весь год обучения плюс проживание и питание в студенческом общежитии. При таком подходе предлагается скидка за комплексность. Многим учащимся это удобно: они делают единственный платеж и весь год не беспокоятся о жилье и питании.

Аренда студио или апартаментов на Кипре

Многие студенты и их родители университетскому жилью предпочитают арендованное.

Для этого есть несколько весомых аргументов «за»:

  • собственная жилплощадь с личным пространством
  • возможность сэкономить – если снимать жилье долгосрочно, можно найти вариант дешевле, чем комната в хостеле
  • близость к другим нужным местам, а не только к университету – что актуально, если студент подрабатывает, и ему не хочется долго добираться до работы
  • возможность жить с семьей: родителями или супругом
  • вариант жить с университетскими друзьями, снимая 1-2-спальные апартаменты на нескольких человек.

Если учащийся хочет жить один, самый подходящий вариант для него – квартира-студия, или студио – на кипрский манер. Это небольшое жилье, в котором есть кухонная и спальная зоны.

Преимущества студио – они стоят дешевле и требуют меньше расходов. Студию легко отапливать зимой, в отличие от больших квартир. Также студия может располагаться недалеко от моря, что станет плюсом для летнего нахождения на Кипре.

Апартаменты с одной или несколькими спальнями выбирают для проживания нескольких человек. Иногда родители вместе с ребенком едут на Кипр, чтобы создать ему все условия для обучения.

Бывает, что студент находит себе вторую половинку, и они съезжаются. Также остается актуальный вариант проживания «вскладчину»: когда несколько студентов делят одну квартиру.

Важно: арендовать квартиру на Кипре тоже нужно заранее: во многих прилежащих к университетам районах жилье пользуется очень большим спросом. Поэтому к началу учебного года остаются или дорогие, или не самые удобные варианты.

Чтобы сэкономить на съеме квартиры, можно поискать ее подальше от вузов – в обычных жилых кварталах. Но тогда нужно тратить время на дорогу. Как правило, потребуется покупка автомобиля и получение водительских прав.

Покупка недвижимости на Кипре

Если позволяют возможности, купить жилье на Кипре – отличное решение для того, кто собирается здесь учиться. Не придется все время искать квартиру или место в общежитии, можно распоряжаться недвижимостью так, как захочется.

Кроме того, покупка недвижимости на Кипре – отличное вложение средств. Даже если это не элитное жилье – оно не потеряет в цене, и его при желании всегда можно продать. А за покупку недвижимости стоимостью от 300 тысяч евро можно получить ВНЖ с возможностью регулярного продления.

Часто студенты после обучения остаются на Кипре, чтобы работать. Поэтому квартира в собственности – самый удобный и рациональный вариант. Если же выпускник уедет с острова, недвижимость можно сдавать в аренду: студентам, преподавателям, семье, отдыхающим.

Несмотря на то, что в период пандемии спрос на студенческое жилье снизился, нельзя говорить о его невостребованности. Скорее, спад носит временный характер – пока иностранные студенты находятся на дистанционном обучении. Как только ситуация в мире и на Кипре стабилизируется, интерес к недвижимости для студентов снова возрастет.

На сайте агентства недвижимости Кипра dom.com.cy есть многочисленные варианты жилья для студентов, аспирантов и преподавателей. Найти в базе подходящую квартиру или дом легко – фильтры позволят сделать выбор быстро и просто.

Также вы можете задать вопрос специалисту в разделе «Вопросы профессионалу».

Source: DOM LiVE
Photos: pixabay.com, free images.google
Еще никто не оставил комментарий
Оставьте свой комментарий...
Интересные предложения

Продается дом

€ 750 000

Элитный пентхаус в Лимассоле

€ 3 600 000

Двухэтажная квартира в Лимассоле

€ 500 000

Роскошная вилла в Пафосе

€ 887 000

Пентхаус с бассейном

€ 890 000

Уютный дом в Писсури

€ 219 000

Недорогой пентхаус в Лимассоле

€ 365 000

Потрясающая вилла в Писсури

€ 1 250 000

Квартира на Кипре

€ 1 800
2

Аренда таунхауса в Пафосе

€ 1 850
Компания «Dom Real Estate» Контакты:
Адрес: Limassol, Cyprus,
Телефон:+357 25 212 212, Электронная почта: info@dom.com.cy