How to cut costs on your house or apartment remodel in Cyprus

На чем можно и нельзя экономить при ремонте старого дома или квартиры на Кипре?
22 August 2022 Angelica Michael
1516

So, you have purchased an old house. In addition to the fact that old houses are often much cheaper than new buildings, there is another significant advantage - most often they are provided with excellent developed infrastructure.

In the new areas of Cypriot cities, located on the outskirts, most often you can see only the sun-scorched area and stunted olives, and civilization in the form of shops, cafes, bakeries, pharmacies, kindergartens and schools may not come soon.

Old houses often need major repairs. Where to start and what to pay attention to?

Do not spare money for expert advice before buying - as a lawyer who will check the legality of the transaction and the absence of "bad karma" in the form of debt to banks and other problems, and an experienced foreman who will assess the condition of the house and make an approximate estimate of the necessary work, which will allow you to understand how much money you need to invest to turn an old house into a cozy and comfortable one.

If the house is very old, there are problems with the foundation, load-bearing walls and roof, in some cases it will be easier to completely demolish the box, repair and strengthen the foundation and build new walls.

The main advantages of the old building are spacious rooms and, if you're lucky, good thermal insulation. In past decades, land was not as expensive as it is now, and houses were built solid and spacious. Also, before the era of air conditioning and various achievements of civilization such as “warm floors”, it was necessary to ensure proper thermal insulation so that the house was cool in the summer heat and kept warm in the winter.

Here we describe in detail how to equip an ergonomic, comfortable and cozy kitchen in a house or apartment, taking into account the Cypriot specifics (heat, dust, humidity).

It is absolutely impossible to save on plumbing and sewer systems and everything related to electrical wiring. A leak in an old pipe in a few months or even weeks will turn a designer renovation into a moldy basement, and this cannot be allowed.

Therefore, it is absolutely necessary to hire a specialist who will check the strength of the load-bearing walls and roof, as well as the condition of the pipes, and it is better to do this at the purchase stage in order to have an idea of ​​​​the value of future investments.

Things that you should never skimp on are the foundation, load-bearing walls, roof, kitchen and bathrooms. The kitchen is just the case when it is more profitable to make everything from scratch and enjoy comfort in the long run.

Foundation and floors

Check the foundation and floors - old houses can have leaks, wood-boring beetles, fungus and rot often live in wooden piles. Under the foundation there must be stable soil.

Roofing and its covering

The condition of the roof and roof directly affects the thermal insulation and microclimate in the house. It is necessary to repair the damage, carefully check the slings (beams that support the roof), as well as the integrity and waterproofing of the outer coating (whether it be slate, tiles or any other material). Over time, any coatings collapse, crack, begin to let moisture through and affect the deterioration of thermal insulation both in the hot season and in the cold.

If you're buying a house in the summer, be especially careful about signs of mold and leaks inside the house. In the rainy season, what was implicit in the summer can become a real problem.

Thermal insulation

In old houses, improper thermal insulation of walls is often found. In some cases, it does not exist. Due to the difference in temperature inside and outside the building, condensation forms and the house is constantly humid and stuffy. If you are not going to completely rebuild the walls, insulate the walls well from the inside or outside.

It is necessary to carefully examine the outer walls. They may have weak seams, cracks, worn or rotten parts, rust in steel beams, delaminated concrete. If you see dampness and mold in the basement, this may indicate design errors or a violation of the foundation's waterproofing. Internal ventilation and thermal insulation of walls also play an important role.

On the inside of the wall, it is necessary to check for cracks, leaks, traces of dampness and mold. Good quality plaster and paint will provide soundproofing. If the house is wooden, it is necessary to treat all wooden parts with flame retardants (a substance that protects wood from fire).

Wiring and solar panels

Wiring in an old house should be checked by an experienced electrician. In old houses, low voltage is often found, which is only enough to turn on the light in the room, but will not be enough to operate modern household appliances and electrical appliances. It is also necessary to replace the old fuses.

If you intend to make a "warm floor" in the house, and also actively use several electrical appliances at the same time (oven, washing machine, air conditioners), you will need to reconsider the wiring and the location of outlets.

In addition, in Cyprus, where the sun shines 11 months a year, it makes sense to install solar panels. This is quite expensive, but you will save the same amount of money on electricity just within the first few years. Just imagine - you will almost stop paying huge electricity bills, and, as a nice bonus, knowing that your home is sustainable does not harm the environment.

Doors and windows

In most cases, windows will need to be replaced or restored. Pay special attention to the insulation of metal frames (condensation forms on them). Door frames when the foundation shrinks, especially in mountainous climates, can warp, so new ones will have to be installed.

You may want to make large "beach" windows - glass windows-doors with access to the courtyard and to the veranda. In this case, it is necessary to consult an architect, since certain standards are provided for the expansion of windows.

The windows of utility rooms (pantry, laundry, as well as a gym, billiard room, etc.) should face north so that the hot rays of the sun do not create a temperature difference that is harmful to products and equipment.

Bathroom

In addition, as we wrote above, you can not save on water and sewer pipes. It is necessary to change the plumbing (including this is a matter of personal hygiene). To assess the condition of pipes and plumbing in bathrooms and bathrooms, it is best to contact an experienced plumber.

Damaged pipes will have to be replaced. It may be necessary to reconsider the location of communications for the convenience of connecting the dishwasher and washing machine. If you plan to install a geyser or a flow-through boiler for heating water, this will also require specialist advice.

Install heated towel rails in bathrooms. In the Cypriot climate this is not a luxury, but a severe necessity. In winter, you will be happy to use warm, well-dried towels and go into a heated bathroom. In Cyprus, in houses without heating, the temperature in the bathroom can drop to 12-14 degrees and below.

What can you save on?

If you have taken into account the above recommendations and checked all the vital aspects of repairing and remodeling an old house, all other parts of it can be skillfully integrated into the new design and bring notes of the old spirit to it. You can keep old doors, parquet, stairs, furniture, fireplace. If these items are restored, you will get really unique items covered with patina.

Share your experience of buying an old house - was it a profitable purchase or a disappointment?

Interested in buying property in Cyprus? Welcome to DOM! Here you will find options for houses and apartments in Limassol, Paphos, Larnaca and Famagusta, as well as get the help of experienced professionals.

Read more:

  1. Varosha: a city where time has stopped
  2. Two floors, a terrace and a gorgeous view of the sea: new buildings in Cyprus with exclusive apartments
  3. General health care system GESI in Cyprus
  4. TOP 5 areas of Limassol for real estate investment in 2022
  5. 10 reasons to move to Cyprus with children
  6. Plus Properties in Cyprus
  7. Long-term prospects for buying real estate in Larnaca
Source: DOM
Photos: pixabay.com
No one has left a comment yet
Place qoute
New objects

Apartment for sale

€ 527 000

Apartment for sale

€ 450 000

Apartment for sale

€ 520 000

Apartment for sale

€ 185 000

Apartment for sale

€ 189 000

Apartment for sale

€ 194 000

House for rent

€ 5 000

House for sale

€ 1 500 000

Apartment for sale

€ 180 000

Apartment for sale

€ 225 000
Компания «Dom Real Estate» Контакты:
Адрес: Limassol, Cyprus,
Телефон:+357 25 212 212, Электронная почта: info@dom.com.cy

На чем можно и нельзя экономить при ремонте старого дома или квартиры на Кипре?

На чем можно и нельзя экономить при ремонте старого дома или квартиры на Кипре?
22 Августа 2022 Angelica Michael
1766

Итак, вы приобрели старый дом. Помимо того, что старые дома зачастую стоят намного дешевле новостроя, есть еще одно существенное преимущество чаще всего они обеспечены отличной развитой инфраструктурой.

В новых районах кипрских городов, расположенных на окраинах, чаще всего можно наблюдать лишь выжженную солнцем местность и чахлые оливы, а цивилизация в виде магазинов, кафе, булочных, аптек, детских садов и школ может добраться еще нескоро.

Зачастую старые дома нуждаются в капитальном ремонте. С чего начать и на что обратить внимание?

Не пожалейте денег на консультации специалистов перед покупкой как юриста, который проверит легальность сделки и отсутствие «плохой кармы» в виде задолженности банкам и прочих проблем, так и опытного прораба, который оценит состояние дома и составит примерную смету необходимых работ, что позволит вам понять, сколько денег нужно вложить, чтобы превратить старый дом в уютный и комфортный.

Если дом очень старый, есть проблемы с фундаментом, несущими стенами и кровлей, в ряде случаев будет проще полностью снести коробку, отремонтировать и укрепить фундамент и возвести новые стены.

Основные плюсы старой постройки просторные комнаты и, если повезет, хорошая термоизоляция. В прошлые десятилетия земля была не такой дорогой, как сейчас, и дома строились добротные и просторные. Также до эпохи кондиционеров и различных достижений цивилизации вроде «теплого пола» необходимо было обеспечить правильную термоизоляцию, чтобы дом был прохладным в летнюю жару и сохранял тепло зимой.

Здесь мы подробно рассказываем, как обустроить эргономичную, комфортную и уютную кухню в доме или квартире с учетом кипрской специфики (жара, пыль, влажность).

Совершенно точно нельзя экономить на водопроводной и канализационной системах и всем, что связано с электропроводкой. Течь в старой трубе за несколько месяцев или даже недель превратит дизайнерский ремонт в покрытый плесенью подвал, а этого допустить никак нельзя.

Поэтому совершенно необходимо нанять специалиста, который проверит прочность несущих стен и кровли, а также состояние труб, причем лучше сделать это еще на стадии покупки, чтобы иметь представление о величине будущих вложений.

Вещи, на которых ни в коем случае нельзя экономить фундамент, несущие стены, крыша, кухня и ванные комнаты. Кухня это как раз тот случай, когда выгоднее сделать все с нуля и наслаждаться комфортом в долгосрочной перспективе.

Фундамент и полы

Проверить фундамент и полы в старых домах могут быть протечки, в деревянных сваях нередко живут жуки-древоточцы, грибок и гниль. Под фундаментом обязательно должна быть устойчивая почва.

Кровля, крыша и ее покрытие

Состояние кровли и крыши напрямую влияет на теплоизоляцию и микроклимат в доме. Необходимо устранить повреждения, тщательно проверить стропы (балки, поддерживающие кровлю), а также целостность и гидроизоляцию наружного покрытия (будь то шифер, черепица или любой другой материал). Со временем любые покрытия разрушаются, растрескиваются, начинают пропускать влагу и влияют на ухудшение теплоизоляции как в жаркое время года, так и в холода.

Если вы покупаете дом летом, особенно внимательно отнеситесь к следам плесени и протечек внутри дома. В дождливое время года то, что было неявно летом, может стать настоящей проблемой.

Теплоизоляция

В старых домах нередко встречается неправильная теплоизоляция стен. В некоторых случаях она просто отсутствует. Из-за разницы температур внутри и снаружи здания образуется конденсат и в доме постоянно влажно и душно. Если вы не собираетесь полностью перестраивать стены, сделайте хорошую теплоизоляцию стен изнутри или снаружи.

Необходимо внимательно осмотреть наружные стены. В них могут быть слабые швы, трещины, износившиеся или прогнившие часты, ржавчина в стальных балках, расслоившийся бетон. Если вы видите сырость и плесень в подвальных помещениях, это может говорить об ошибках проектирования или нарушении гидроизоляции фундамента. Также важную роль играет внутреннее вентилирование и теплоизоляция стен.

С внутренней стороны стены необходимо проверить на наличие трещин, протечек, следов сырости и плесени. Штукатурка и краска хорошего качества обеспечат звукоизоляцию. Если дом деревянный, необходимо обработать все деревянные части антипиренами (веществом, которое предохраняет древесину от огня).

Электропроводка и солнечные батареи

Электропроводку в старом доме должен проверять опытный электрик. В старых домах нередко встречается малое напряжение, которой хватает только на то, чтобы включить свет в комнате, но будет недостаточно для работы современных бытовых устройств и электроприборов. Также необходимо заменить старые предохранители.

Если вы намереваетесь сделать в доме «теплый пол», а также активно пользуетесь несколькими электроприборами одновременно (духовая печь, стиральная машина, кондиционеры), вам необходимо будет пересмотреть электропроводку и расположение розеток.

Кроме того, на Кипре, где солнце светит 11 месяцев в году, имеет смысл установить солнечные батареи. Это довольно затратно, но окупит себя уже в первые несколько лет. Только представьте себе вы почти перестанете платить по огромным счетам за электричество, и, как приятный бонус сознание, что ваш дом является экологичным не наносит вреда окружающей среде.

Двери и окна

В большинстве случаев окна придется заменить или отреставрировать. Обратите особое внимание на изоляцию металлических рам (на них образуется конденсат). Дверные рамы при усадке фундамента, особенно в горном климате, могут перекоситься, поэтому придется установить новые.

Возможно, вы захотите сделать большие «пляжные» окна стеклянные окна-двери с выходом во двор и на веранду. В этом случае необходимо получить консультацию архитектора, поскольку для расширения окон предусмотрены определенные нормативы.

Окна подсобных помещений (кладовая, прачечная, а также спортзал, бильярдная и прочее) должны выходить на север, чтобы жаркие лучи солнца не создавали вредного для продуктов и техники перепада температур.

Ванная комната

Кроме того, как мы уже писали выше, нельзя экономить на водопроводных и канализационных трубах. Необходимо поменять сантехнику (в том числе это вопрос личной гигиены). Для оценки состояния труб и сантехники в ванных комнатах и санузлах лучше обратиться к опытному сантехнику/водопроводчику.

Придется заменить поврежденные трубы. Возможно, будет необходимо пересмотреть расположение коммуникаций для удобства подключения посудомоейчной и стиральной машины. Если вы планируете установить для нагрева воды газовую колонку или проточный бойлер, это тоже потребует консультации специалиста.

Установите в ванных комнатах полотенцесушители. Поверьте, в кипрском климате это не роскошь, а суровая необходимость. Зимой вы будете с удовольствием пользоваться теплыми хорошо просушенными полотенцами и заходить в прогретую ванную комнату. На Кипре в домах без отопления температура в ванной комнате может опускаться до 12-14 градусов тепла и ниже.

На чем можно сэкономить?

Если вы учли вышеперечисленные рекомендации и проверили все жизненно важные аспекты ремонта и перестройки старого дома, все остальные его части могут быть умело вписаны в новый дизайн и привнести в него нотки старого духа. Вы можете сохранить старые двери, паркет, лестницы, мебель, камин. Если эти предметы отреставрировать, вы получите действительно уникальные вещи, подернутые патиной.

Поделитесь своим опытом покупки старого дома стало ли это выгодным приобретением или принесло разочарование?

Интересует покупка недвижимости на Кипре? Добро пожаловать на сайт DOM! Здесь вы найдете варианты домов и квартир в Лимассоле, Пафосе, Ларнаке и Фамагусте, а также получите помощь опытных специалистов.

Читайте также:

  1. Вароша: город, где время остановилось
  2. Два этажа, терраса и шикарный вид на море: новостройки Кипра с эксклюзивными квартирами
  3. Генеральная система медицинского обслуживания ГЕСИ на Кипре
  4. ТОП-5 районов Лимассола для инвестиций в недвижимость в 2022 год
  5. 10 причин переехать жить на Кипр с детьми
  6. Путь компании Plus Properties на Кипре
  7. Долгосрочные перспективы покупки недвижимости в Ларнаке
Source: DOM
Photos: pixabay.com
Еще никто не оставил комментарий
Оставьте свой комментарий...
Новые объекты

Сдается квартира

€ 900

Сдается квартира

€ 3 000

Сдается квартира

€ 6 500

Сдается квартира

€ 2 000

Сдается квартира

€ 950

Продается квартира

€ 165 000

Продается квартира

€ 153 000

Продается квартира

€ 135 000

Продается дом

€ 363 000

Продается квартира

€ 950 000
Компания «Dom Real Estate» Контакты:
Адрес: Limassol, Cyprus,
Телефон:+357 25 212 212, Электронная почта: info@dom.com.cy