Central Bank of Cyprus Opposes Extension of Moratorium on Foreclosures

Центробанк Кипра против продления моратория на продажу залоговой недвижимости
2 July 2021 DOM LiVE
1322

Growing demand from local buyers for Cyprus property is helping the sector stay afloat despite declining interest from foreign investors.

According to the June financial bulletin of the Central Bank, the main reason for the increased interest in housing on the island is subsidized interest rates. And when combined with stricter lending criteria, this largely guarantees that new mortgages are more sustainable.

In particular, the financial bulletin refers to data from the Department of Lands and Geodesy (SCC), from which it follows that the number of sales and purchases in the period from January to April 2021 increased by 27.6%. In turn, in the first five months of 2021, local residents bought 2,482 properties in Cyprus, which is 69.4% of the total sales.

According to experts, a key feature of the current and next seasons will be the growing demand from local residents for residential real estate, mainly apartments, in order to create new sources of income. In this context, there is now also the use of government incentives to subsidize mortgage interest rates.

At the same time, the latest data published by the Central Bank show an increase in the price index for houses and apartments.

Thus, the quarterly growth in the cost of apartments was 1.2%, and of houses - 0.2%. This reflects the increased interest from buyers in buying apartments in Cyprus. Most cities in Cyprus are now experiencing increased demand from local buyers, mainly for apartments and houses of smaller size and value than in the past.

Such a change in buyers' preferences may be associated primarily with excellent government incentives, as well as a desire to invest in real estate for subsequent lease, - emphasizes the Central Bank of Cyprus.

By the way, undoubtedly, domestic demand is supported by the real estate sector, however, along with this, the share of problem loans is growing in the country.

According to the European Banking Authority, red loans in the Cyprus property sector remain among the highest in Europe. The corresponding index rose to 29.8% in the first quarter of 2021 from 29.1% in the previous quarter.

In addition, the Central Bank of Cyprus is alarmed by the fact that the Parliament intends to extend the moratorium on the sale of mortgaged housing until the end of October 2021.

Rating agencies complain that Cyprus does not have a clear position, because from time to time the country changes the laws affecting the assessment of mortgage housing. This is toxic. We have become an economy that the international community (including supervisory authorities) cannot take seriously, the Central Bank said.

In other words, the extension of the moratorium will entail a decrease in the country's credit rating, which will increase the cost of borrowing in the capital markets for the government. At the same time, the rating of Cyprus is now at the minimum investment level.

The European Central Bank, most likely, in the near future will require Cypriot banks to increase the volume of reserves, since the coverage of the loan portfolio will decrease, as happened at one time with the Cyprus Cooperative Bank. Bank executives believe this will create an imbalance in the industry. Given that the banking sector is already suffering losses, and "the risk of an increase in loan defaults is obvious. This opinion is shared by the international rating agency Moody's, which indicates in its credit review an increase in the volume of bad debts after the expiration of state support measures for companies and the population.

At the same time, the intention of the parliamentary parties to suspend the sale of mortgaged real estate until October prompted investment funds, which are consulting with banks on debt disposal, to put pressure on further price reductions.

Центробанк Кипра против продления моратория на продажу залоговой недвижимости

Bankers note that the upcoming sales concern large enterprises that were stopped not only before the pandemic crisis, but also before 2013.

As you may know, a few years ago, Cyprus, still not recovering from the consequences of the 2013 crisis and under pressure from three international creditors (European Commission, ECB, IMF), legalized the right of banks to dispose of the collateral of insolvent borrowers, loosening restrictions on the alienation of the main place of residence.

However, for some time, opposition parties have been demanding a revision of the legislation in order to limit banks in their rights to collateral on loans - the main places of residence of borrowers, that is, in fact, a rollback of legislation to the previous version.

International partners have repeatedly expressed their concern in this regard, as have rating agencies, in each of their reports mentioning the risks associated with such a step.

Source: philenews.com, stockwatch.com.cy
Photos: pixabay.com
No one has left a comment yet
Place qoute
Interesting offers

House for sale in Paphos

€ 380 000

Penthouse for sale in Limassol

€ 365 000

Manor for sale in Limassol

€ 2 000 000

Investment project in Limassol

€ 1 230 000

House for rent in Limassol

€ 3 300

House for sale in Limassol

€ 1 200 000

Fantastic penthouse

€ 630 000

Buy apartment in Limassol

€ 1 700 000

Penthouse with rooftop pool in Limassol

€ 450 000

Luxury penthouse

€ 2 500 000
Компания «Dom Real Estate» Контакты:
Адрес: Limassol, Cyprus,
Телефон:+357 25 212 212, Электронная почта: info@dom.com.cy

Центробанк Кипра против продления моратория на продажу залоговой недвижимости

Центробанк Кипра против продления моратория на продажу залоговой недвижимости
2 Июля 2021 DOM LiVE
1338

По данным Центрального банка, рост спроса со стороны местных покупателей на недвижимость Кипра помогает сектору оставаться на плаву, несмотря на снижение интереса со стороны иностранных инвесторов.

Согласно июньскому финансовому бюллетеню Центробанка, главной причиной повышенной заинтересованности в жилье на острове является субсидирование процентных ставок. А в совокупности с более строгими критериями кредитования, это в значительной степени гарантирует, что новые ипотечные ссуды окажутся более устойчивым.

В частности, финансовый бюллетень ссылается на данные Департамента земель и геодезии (SCC), из которого следует, что количество сделок купли-продажи в период с января по апрель 2021 года выросло на 27,6%. В свою очередь, за первые пять месяцев 2021 года местные жители купили 2482 объекта недвижимости на Кипре, что составляет 69,4% от общего объёма продаж.

По мнению экспертов, ключевой особенностью текущего и следующего сезона станет рост спроса со стороны местных жителей на жилую недвижимость, в основном квартиры, с целью создания новых источников дохода. В этом контексте сейчас также наблюдается использование государственных стимулов для субсидирования процентной ставки по ипотеке.

В то же время последние данные, опубликованные Центробанком, показывают увеличение индекса цен на дома и квартиры.

Так, ежеквартальный рост стоимости квартир составил 1,2%, а домов - 0,2%. Это отражает возросший интерес со стороны покупателей к покупке апартаментов на Кипре. В большинстве городов Кипра сейчас наблюдается повышенный спрос со стороны местных покупателей, в основном на квартиры и дома меньшего размера и стоимости, чем в прошлом.

Такое изменение предпочтений покупателей может быть связано в первую очередь с отличными государственными стимулами, а также желанием вложить деньги в недвижимость для последующей аренды, - подчёркивает Центробанк Кипра.

К слову, несомненно, внутренний спрос поддерживает сектор недвижимости, однако, вместе с этим в стране растёт и доля проблемных кредитов.

По данным Европейского банковского управления, красные кредиты в секторе недвижимости Кипра остаются одними из самых высоких в Европе. Соответствующий индекс вырос до 29,8% в первом квартале 2021 года с 29,1% в предыдущем квартале.

Кроме того, тревогу у Центробанка Кипра вызывает тот факт, что Парламент намерен продлить мораторий на продажу залогового жилья до конца октября 2021 года.

Рейтинговые агентства жалуются, что у Кипра нет чёткой позиции, потому что время от времени в стране меняют законы, влияющие на оценку залогового жилья. Само по себе это токсично. Мы стали экономикой, которую международное сообщество (включая надзорные органы) не может воспринимать всерьёз, - отметили в Центробанке.

Другими словами, продление моратория повлечь за собой снижение кредитного рейтинга страны, что повысит стоимость заимствований на рынках капитала для правительства. При этом рейтинг Кипра сейчас и так находится на минимальном инвестиционном уровне.

Европейский центральный банк, скорее всего, в ближайшее потребует от кипрских банков увеличить объёмы резервов, поскольку покрытие кредитного портфеля уменьшится, как это произошло в своё время с Кипрским Кооперативным банком. Руководители банков считают, что это вызовет дисбаланс в отрасли. При том, что банковский сектор уже терпит убытки, а «риск увеличения дефолтов по кредитам очевиден». Это мнение разделяет и международное рейтинговое агентство Moody's, указывающее в своём кредитном обзоре на увеличение объёмов проблемной задолженности после окончания срока действия мер государственной поддержки компаний и населения.

В то же время намерение парламентских партий приостановить продажи залоговой недвижимости до октября побудило инвестиционные фонды, которые проводят консультации с банками по вопросам отчуждения долга, оказать давление в вопросе дальнейшего снижения цен.

Центробанк Кипра против продления моратория на продажу залоговой недвижимости

Банкиры отмечают, что предстоящие продажи касаются крупных предприятий, которые были остановлены не только перед пандемическим кризисом, но и до 2013 года.

Напомним, несколько лет назад Кипр, все ещё не оправившись от последствий кризиса 2013 года и под давлением тройки международных кредиторов (Еврокомиссии, ЕЦБ, МВФ), узаконил право банков распоряжаться залоговым имуществом несостоятельных заёмщиков, послабив ограничения на отчуждение основного места проживания.

Однако, уже некоторое время оппозиционные партии требуют пересмотра законодательства с целью ограничить банки в их правах на залоги по кредитам – основные места проживания заёмщиков, то есть, по сути, отката законодательства к прежней версии.

Международные партнёры уже неоднократно выражали свою обеспокоенность в этой связи, как и рейтинговые агентства, в каждом своём отчёте упоминающие связанные с таким шагом риски.

Source: philenews.com, stockwatch.com.cy
Photos: pixabay.com
Еще никто не оставил комментарий
Оставьте свой комментарий...
Интересные предложения

Продается отель в Лимассоле

€ 4 800 000

Элитная вилла в Лимассоле

€ 2 650 000

Гигантский дом в живописном месте

€ 1 800 000

Купить пентхаус в Лимассоле

€ 695 000

Продажа усадьбы в Лимассоле

€ 2 000 000

Дом с видом на море

€ 280 000

Роскошный пентхаус

€ 2 500 000

Купить квартиру в Лимассоле

€ 1 700 000

Продается дом

€ 750 000

Эксклюзивная вилла в Лимассоле

€ 1 190 000
Компания «Dom Real Estate» Контакты:
Адрес: Limassol, Cyprus,
Телефон:+357 25 212 212, Электронная почта: info@dom.com.cy