Moratorium on Eviction of Tenants in Cyprus was Passed Illegally

Мораторий на выселение арендаторов на Кипре был принят незаконно
7 October 2021 DOM LiVE
1508

Less than a year later, the Cyprus court passed a verdict on the feasibility and legality of extending the moratorium on the eviction of tenants, which was adopted by the Parliament of the Republic of Cyprus.

On Tuesday, October 5, the court ruled that the parliament did not have the right and power to amend the relevant legislation, since they contradict the freedom to conclude contracts, enshrined in Article 26 of the Constitution of Cyprus, the principle of separation of powers, as well as the principle of separation of powers guaranteed article 30.1 of the Constitution.

The automatic suspension of the procedure for making decisions and orders for eviction at any stage, without hearing the other party and without a court decision as to whether such suspension is justified, constitutes an interference with the powers of the courts and a violation of the separation of powers, the Supreme Court of Cyprus said.

Мораторий на выселение арендаторов на Кипре был принят незаконно

As you may know, on January 24, 2020, the Parliament of the Republic of Cyprus approved a bill allowing the eviction of unscrupulous tenants within two weeks.

However, due to the coronavirus pandemic, it had to be frozen in March. The owners were forbidden to evict tenants who do not pay the owners of houses and apartments for rent until May 31. Then the ban was extended until September 30. At the end of September, MPs from AKEL and Greens prepared a new bill prohibiting the eviction of tenants of rented housing in case of delay in payment until the end of the year.

In early October, the deputies unanimously supported this initiative. However, the President of Cyprus did not support the idea. Anastasiades refused to sign the bill passed by parliament.

In his letter to parliament, the president said that the previous ban on the eviction of tenants until May 31 and its extension until September 30 were justified actions. However, with the abolition of quarantine measures, the need for its next extension disappeared.

Anastasiades stressed that the extension of the suspension of the eviction procedure provided for by this Law contradicts the freedom to conclude contracts enshrined in Article 26 of the Cyprus Constitution, the principle of separation of powers, as well as the principle of separation of powers guaranteed by Article 30.1 of the Constitution. As it turned out, the island's court supported him, stating that the amendments by the members of parliament violate the principle of separation of powers, as it interferes with the powers of the courts.

And all would be fine, only the court's decision was delayed by almost a year, since the amendments ended on December 31, 2020. Nevertheless, many are confident that the court's decision will serve as a precedent against similar actions by parliament in the future.

Source: cyprus-mail.com
Photos: pixabay.com
No one has left a comment yet
Place qoute
Interesting offers

House in Paphos

€ 360 000

Villa for sale in Limassol

€ 1 200 000

Penthouse for sale in Limassol

€ 365 000

Villa for sale in Pissouri

€ 325 000

Penthouse at an attractive price

€ 1 700 000

Old people house

€ 5 800 000

Modern 3-storey building for rent

€ 21 000

Villa for sale in Limassol

€ 3 200 000

House for sale in Paphos

€ 380 000

Fantastic penthouse

€ 630 000
Компания «Dom Real Estate» Контакты:
Адрес: Limassol, Cyprus,
Телефон:+357 25 212 212, Электронная почта: info@dom.com.cy

Мораторий на выселение арендаторов на Кипре был принят незаконно

Мораторий на выселение арендаторов на Кипре был принят незаконно
7 Октября 2021 Liza Medvetskaya
2615

Не прошло и года, как суд Кипра вынес приговор относительно целесообразности и правомерности продления моратория на выселение арендаторов, который был принят парламент Республики Кипр в связи с пандемией коронавируса.

В частности, во вторник, 5 октября, суд постановил, что парламент не имел право и полномочий вносить поправки в соответствующее законодательство, поскольку они противоречат свободе заключения договоров, закреплённой в статье 26 Конституции Кипра, принципу разделения властей, а также принципу разделения полномочий, гарантированным статьёй 30.1 Конституции.

Автоматическая приостановка процедуры вынесения решений и постановлений о выселении на любой стадии, без заслушивания другой стороны и без решения суда о том, является ли такая приостановка оправданной, представляет собой вмешательство в полномочия судов и нарушение разделения полномочия, - заявил Верховный суд Кипра.

Мораторий на выселение арендаторов на Кипре был принят незаконно

Напомним, что 24 января 2020 года парламент Республики Кипр одобрил законопроект, позволяющий выселить в двухнедельный срок недобросовестных арендаторов.

Однако из-за пандемии коронавируса, в марте его пришлось заморозить. Собственникам запретили осуществлять выселения арендаторов, которые не платят владельцам домов и квартир за аренду, до 31 мая. Затем действие запрета продлили до 30 сентября. В конце сентября депутаты от AKEL и партии Зелёных подготовили новый законопроект, запрещающий выселять жильцов арендованного жилья в случае задержки с оплатой до конца года. 

В начале октября депутаты единогласным решением поддержали эту инициативу. Однако, вскоре в дело вмешался президент Кипра. Анастасиадис отказался подписать законопроект, принятый парламентом.

В своём письме в парламент президент заявил, что предыдущий запрет на выселение арендаторов до 31 мая и его продление до 30 сентября – были оправданными действиями. Однако с отменой карантинных мер, надобность в его очередном продлении пропала.

Анастасиадис подчеркнул, что продление срока приостановления процедуры выселения, предусмотренное настоящим Законом, противоречит свободе заключения договоров, закреплённой в статье 26 Конституции Кипра, принципу разделения властей, а также принципу разделения полномочий, гарантированным статьёй 30.1 Конституции. Как оказалось, суд Кипра поддержал главу государства, заявив, что поправки членов парламента нарушают принцип разделения власти, поскольку он вмешивается в полномочия судов.

И все бы ничего, только решение суда запоздало практически на год, поскольку действие поправок закончилось 31 декабря 2020 года. Тем не менее, многие уверенны, что решение суда послужит прецедентом против аналогичных действий парламента в будущем.

Source: cyprus-mail.com
Photos: pixabay.com
Еще никто не оставил комментарий
Оставьте свой комментарий...
Новые объекты

Продается дом

€ 600 000

Сдается квартира

€ 750

Сдается квартира

€ 3 000

Сдается квартира

€ 700

Сдается квартира

€ 10 000

Сдается квартира

€ 900

Сдается квартира

€ 3 000

Сдается квартира

€ 6 500

Сдается квартира

€ 2 000

Сдается квартира

€ 950
Компания «Dom Real Estate» Контакты:
Адрес: Limassol, Cyprus,
Телефон:+357 25 212 212, Электронная почта: info@dom.com.cy