The President of Cyprus Decided to Intervene in the Golden Passports Scandal

В скандал с "золотыми паспортами" решил вмешаться президент Кипра
2 September 2020 Liza Medvetskaya
2692

On Wednesday, September 2, Cypriot President Niсos Anastasiades expressed regret over the events related to the recent scandal over the publication of an investigation by the Qatari newspaper Al Jazeera, in which the Cypriot Citizenship by Investment program was the main figure involved.

Anastasiades said that he intends, during the meeting of the Council of Ministers, which will be held on Thursday, September 3, to ask the Attorney General of Cyprus to appoint a three-person investigative committee to thoroughly study the work of the investment program from 2007 to July 31, 2020. In other words, to investigate who issued passports at a time when parliament approved a new, stricter legal framework.

At the same time, the President noted that this decision will in no way affect the powers conferred on the Attorney General by the Constitution to check the tax department for proper tax administration.

In turn, the auditor general of Cyprus Odysseas Michaelides said that he intends to conduct his own investigation to determine whether the state has lost income in the form of taxes or fees.

However, his initiative was thwarted by the Ministry of the Interior, which refused to provide confidential information without an appropriate legal opinion.

The auditor surprisingly calmly reacted to the refusal, noting that he respects the government's authority to request a legal opinion, even though he considers it obvious his right to check the state's revenues from the program being implemented.

However, Michaelides warned that if the government's refusal is based on a legal opinion from the attorney general, the case will go to the Supreme Court, which will have the final say.

The Cyprus Auditor General highlighted the seriousness of the issue, adding that a preliminary examination of the five files already in his possession raised serious concerns about the potential loss of government revenues.

Meanwhile, the Cypriot police have also launched their own investigation, trying to find the source who leaked confidential documents to Al Jazeera.

A version is currently being worked out according to which the documents were transferred to the TV company by one of the members of parliament. At the same time, the legislature still refuses to cooperate with law enforcement agencies, referring to possible constitutional problems.

So, on Tuesday, September 1, the head of the House of Representatives of Cyprus Socrates Socratous refused to provide the police with lists of 115 citizens who had previously received passports under the Citizenship by Investment program, even despite the order presented by the Attorney General with his personal signature.

If you do not provide these documents without a good reason, then you are committing an offense punishable by imprisonment for up to three years or a fine of € 2,562, or both, the order said.

However, this did not in any way affect Socratous, so all the originals of files and documents, correspondence and attachments sent by the Ministry of the Interior, as well as the originals of delivery receipts, remained within the walls of parliament.

В скандал с

In turn, on Wednesday, during a meeting of leaders and party representatives, parliament decided to seek the opinion of three legal experts on the demand that the police had previously made to them.

After that, the main opposition parliamentary representative of Akel, Giorgos Loukides, said that the police ultimatum was unanimously rejected.

'The leaders' meeting unanimously concluded that the police ultimatum was institutionally and legally unacceptable. To strengthen the parliament's position on this issue, we decided to turn to external legal advisers,' said Loucaides.

Loucaides added that his party also considers the move politically unacceptable, as it was an attempt by the government to divert attention from the essence of the matter - serious mistakes made by the government in relation to the investment program.

He was backed by Edek MP Kostis Efstathiou, who went even further by denouncing the ruling DISY leader Averof Neophytou for suggesting that the leak could only have been the work of about 18 people - party leaders and MPs who are members of the House of Representatives' internal affairs committee.

This was a completely inappropriate statement, and that raises questions, since it is unacceptable for a deputy to point the finger at his own colleagues, '' summed up Efstathiou.
Source: cyprus-mail.com
Photos: naimtruda.com
No one has left a comment yet
Place qoute
New objects

Apartment for sale

€ 400 000

Apartment for sale

€ 160 000

Apartment for sale

€ 95 000

House for sale

€ 499 000

Apartment for sale

€ 1 350 000

Flat for rent

€ 2 600

€ 6 000

Apartment for sale

€ 420 000

House for sale

€ 420 000

Flat for rent

€ 4 000
Компания «Dom Real Estate» Контакты:
Адрес: Limassol, Cyprus,
Телефон:+357 25 212 212, Электронная почта: info@dom.com.cy

В скандал с "золотыми паспортами" решил вмешаться президент Кипра

В скандал с "золотыми паспортами" решил вмешаться президент Кипра В скандал с "золотыми паспортами" решил вмешаться президент Кипра
2 Сентября 2020 DOM LiVE
171 0

В среду, 2 сентября, президент Кипра Никос Анастасиадес выразил сожаление по поводу событий, связанных с недавним скандалом из-за публикации расследования катарского издания «Аль-Джазира», в котором кипрская программа «Гражданство за инвестиции» оказалась главным фигурантом.

Анастасиадис заявил, что намерен во время заседания Совета министров, которое состоится в четверг, 3 сентября, обратиться к генеральному прокурору Кипра с просьбой назначить следственный комитет в составе трех человек для досконального изучения работы инвестиционной программы в период с 2007 года по 31 июля 2020 года. Иными словами, расследовать кому выдавались паспорта в период, когда парламент утвердил новую, более строгую правовую базу.

При этом президент отметил, что это решение никоим образом не повлияет на полномочия, возложенные на генерального прокурора Конституцией по проверке налогового департамента на предмет надлежащего налогового управления.

В свою очередь, генеральный аудитор Кипра Одиссеас Михаэлидис сообщил, что намерен провести собственное расследование, чтобы определить, потеряло ли государство доходы в виде налогов или сборов.

Однако его инициативу пресекло министерство внутренних дел, которое отказалось предоставлять конфиденциальную информацию без соответствующего юридического заключения.

На удивление аудитор спокойно отреагировал на отказ, отметил, что уважает полномочия правительства запрашивать юридическое заключение, даже несмотря на то, что считает очевидным свое право проверять доходы государства от реализуемой программы.

Тем не менее, Михаэлидис предупредил, что если отказ правительства будет основан на юридическом заключении генерального прокурора, то дело будет передано в верховный суд, за которым будет последнее слово.

Генеральный аудитор Кипра подчеркнул серьезность вопроса, добавив, что предварительное изучение пяти файлов, уже имеющихся в его распоряжении, вызвали серьезные опасения по поводу возможной потери государственных доходов.

Тем временем, полиция Кипра также начала собственное расследование, пытаясь найти источник, который слил конфиденциальные документы в «Аль-Джазиру».

В настоящее время прорабатывается версия, согласно которой документы были переданы телекомпании кем-то из членов парламента. При этом, законодательный орган пока отказывается сотрудничать с правоохранительными органами, ссылаясь на возможные конституционные проблемы.

Так, во вторник, 1 сентября, глава Палаты представителей Кипра Сократис Сократус отказался предоставить полиции списки 115 граждан, которые ранее получили паспорта по программе «Гражданство за инвестиции» даже не смотря на предъявленный приказ от генерального прокурора с его личной подписью.

Если вы не предоставите указанные документы без уважительной причины, то вы совершаете правонарушение, наказуемое тюремным заключением на срок до трех лет или штрафом в размере € 2562 или и тем, и другим, - говорилось в приказе.

Однако это никоим образом не повлияло на Сократуса, поэтому все оригиналы файлов и документов, корреспонденции и приложений, присланных министерством внутренних дел, а также оригиналы квитанций о доставке остались по-прежнему в стенах парламента.

В скандал с

В свою очередь, в среду во время встречи лидеров и представителей партий парламент решил запросить мнение трех экспертов по правовым вопросам в отношении требования, которое ранее им выдвинула полиция.

После чего, главный оппозиционный парламентский представитель Akel Гиоргос Лукайдес заявил, что ультиматум полиции был единогласно отклонен.

Встреча лидеров единогласно пришла к выводу, что ультиматум, выдвинутый полицией, является институционально и юридически неприемлемым. Чтобы укрепить позицию парламента по этому вопросу, мы решили обратиться к внешним юрисконсультам, - сказал Лукайдес. 

Лукайдес добавил, что его партия также считает этот шаг политически неприемлемым, поскольку это была попытка правительства отвлечь внимание от сути дела – серьезных ошибок, допущенных правительством в отношении инвестиционной программы.

Его поддержал член парламента от Edek Костис Эфстатиу, который пошел еще дальше, осудив правящего лидера Disy Аверофа Неофиту за то, что он предположил, что утечка могла быть делом рук только около 18 человек - партийных лидеров и депутатов, которые являются членами комитета по внутренним делам Палаты представителей.

Это было совершенно неподходящее и неуместное заявление, и именно оно вызывает вопросы, поскольку неприемлемо депутату показывать пальцем на своих же коллег, - подытожил Эфстатиу. 
Source: cyprus-mail.com
Photos: naimtruda.com
Комментарии
Еще никто не оставил комментарий
Комментарии могут оставлять только зарегистрированные пользователи

Вход и регистрация
Компания «Dom Real Estate» Контакты:
Адрес: Limassol, Cyprus,
Телефон:+357 25 212 212, Электронная почта: info@dom.com.cy