Cyprus Authorities Confiscate a Chinese Investor's Property

Власти Кипра конфисковали имущество китайского инвестора
23 January 2021 Liza Medvetskaya
3382

According to a Cypriot court ruling issued on the basis of evidence provided by the Unit for Combating Money Laundering (MOKAS), authorities of Cyprus seized real estate and a large amount of money of a foreign investor, who holds a "gold" passport.

Nis name is Zhang Schumin, he is a Chinese citizen who has been wanted by the PRC authorities for several years on charges of fraud with gold bars.

It is worth noting that despite the fact that an international arrest warrant was issued for the Chinese, this did not prevent him, along with his wife and three children, from obtaining a Cyprus passport under the Citizenship by Investment program in 2015, after he invested a large amount of money in the country's real estate.

By the way, recently MOKAS, in the context of cooperation with the competent authorities of China and on the basis of a request for legal assistance, which was sent after the release of the information of the Chinese authorities, regarding a large-scale investigated fraud committed in China, filed a lawsuit and obtained an arrest and confiscation of a large amount of real estate; as well as freezing of bank account's money in the name of two Chinese. One of them turned out to be Zhang Schumin.

According to some reports, Zhang Schumin is currently in Cyprus.

According to a court order, the seized property includes several shops and many apartments in Cyprus.

According to preliminary estimates, the value of the expropriated property, which was discovered during a corresponding audit carried out by the Department of Lands and Surveys, is estimated at about 5 million euros. The amount of money frozen in the accounts of Cypriot banks is 900 thousand euros.

According to the report of the committee, which was chaired by the head of the Cyprus Securities and Exchange Commission (CySEC) Dimitra Kalogirou, at least 7 foreigners, hiding some facts and giving false testimony when filing applications, received the citizenship of Cyprus.

Among them were:

  • A Malaysian citizen Joe Low - he is accused of withdrawing billions of dollars from the state investment fund named '1Malaysia Development Berhad' (1MDB). The committee revealed that the Malaysian obtained Cypriot citizenship in 2015 by fraudulently providing false information, at a time when he was already involved in a big scandal with the Prime Minister of Malaysia Najib Razak.
  • A Dominican Mehdi Ebrahimi Eshratabadi (later changed his name to Tony Newman) who is wanted for fraud in Iran, providing false information about himself at the time of filing an application.
  • A Canadian Iranian Malexabet Ebrahimi - wanted by Interpol, involved in fraud.
  • A Cambodian Sopheep Cheng is involved in violence and real estate fraud in Cambodia.
  • Chinese Zhang Schumin, he is Wanted by the Chinese authorities in a gold fraud case.

Earlier, Cyprus had already confiscated a luxury villa in the Limnar area of  Ayia Napa, owned by Low Taek Joe (Jo Lowe), a fugitive Malaysian financier with Cypriot citizenship.

Власти Кипра конфисковали имущество китайского инвестора

Source: philenews.com
Photos: pixabay.com
No one has left a comment yet
Place qoute
Interesting offers

New duplex in an elite complex

€ 572 000

Luxury penthouse

€ 2 500 000

New apartment in a top project

€ 999 000

Penthouse for sale in Limassol

€ 365 000

Buy apartment in Limassol

€ 1 700 000

House for sale

€ 750 000

Luxury penthouse

€ 10 000

House for sale in Limassol

€ 600 000

Villa for sale in Cyprus

€ 2 700 000

Hotel for sale in Paphos

€ 1 350 000
Компания «Dom Real Estate» Контакты:
Адрес: Limassol, Cyprus,
Телефон:+357 25 212 212, Электронная почта: info@dom.com.cy

Власти Кипра конфисковали имущество китайского инвестора

Власти Кипра конфисковали имущество китайского инвестора
23 Января 2021 DOM LiVE
1274 0

Согласно постановлению кипрского суда, выданному на основании улик, предоставленных Отделом по борьбе с сокрытием преступлений (MOKAS), у иностранного инвестора, владеющего «золотым» паспортом, была изъята на Кипре недвижимость и крупная сумма денег.

В частности, речь идёт о Чжан Шумине – гражданине Китая, который не первый год разыскивается властями КНР по обвинению в делах о мошенничестве с золотыми слитками.

Стоит отметить, что несмотря на то, что на китайца был выдан международный ордер на арест, это не помешало ему вместе с женой и тремя детьми получить паспорт Кипра по программе «Гражданство за инвестиции» в 2015 году, инвестировав крупную сумму денег в недвижимость страны.

К слову, недавно MOKAS в контексте сотрудничества с компетентными органами Китая и на основании запроса о правовой помощи, который был отправлен после обнародования информации китайских властей, в отношении крупномасштабного расследованного мошенничества, совершенного в Китае, подал иск в суд и добился постановления об аресте и конфискации большого количества недвижимости, а также заморозки денег на банковских счетах на имя двух китайцев. Одним из них оказался Чжан Шумин.

По некоторым данным, в настоящий момент китаец находится на Кипре.

Согласно постановлению суда, изъятая собственность включает несколько магазинов и множество квартир на территории Кипра.

По предварительным оценкам, стоимость отчуждённой собственности, которая была обнаружена в ходе соответствующей проверки, проведённой Департаментом земельного кадастра Кипра, оценивается примерно в 5 млн евро. А сумма денег, замороженная на счетах кипрских банков, составляет 900 тыс евро.

Напомним, что согласно отчёту комитета, который возглавляла председатель Кипрской комиссии по ценным бумагам и биржам (CySEC) Димитра Калогиру, как минимум 7 иностранцев, скрыв существенные факты и дав ложные показания при подаче заявлений, получили гражданство Кипра.

В их числе оказались:

  • Малазиец Джо Лоу – его обвиняют в выводе миллиардов долларов из государственного инвестиционного фонда 1Malaysia Development Berhad (1MDB). Комитет выявил, что малайзиец получил кипрское гражданство в 2015 году обманным путем, предоставив ложные данные, в то время, когда он уже был замешан в большом скандале с премьер-министром Малайзии Наджибом Разаком.
  • Доминиканец Мехди Эбрахими Эшратабади (позднее сменил имя на Тони Ньюмана) – гражданин Доминиканы, который разыскивается за мошенничество в Иране, предоставив ложные данные о себе в момент подачи заявления.
  • Канадский иранец Малексабет Эбрахими – разыскивается Интерполом, замешен в мошенничестве.
  • Камбоджийка Софип Ченг - причастна к случаям насилия и мошенничества с недвижимостью в Камбодже. 
  • Китаец Чжан Шумин – разыскивается китайскими властями по делу о мошенничестве с золотом.
Ранее, на Кипре уже конфисковали роскошную виллу в районе Лимнара в Айя-Напе, принадлежащую Лоу Таеку Джо (Джо Лоу) - беглому малазийскому финансисту с кипрским гражданством.

Власти Кипра конфисковали имущество китайского инвестора

Source: philenews.com
Photos: pixabay.com
Еще никто не оставил комментарий
Оставьте свой комментарий...
Интересные предложения

Квартира в новостройке Лимассола

€ 277 500

Роскошная вилла в Лимассоле

€ 3 300 000

Недорогой дом в Пафосе

€ 360 000

Недорогой дом в Лимассоле

€ 661 000

Уютная квартира в Пафосе

€ 89 000

Новый дуплекс в Лимассоле

€ 1 169 000
2

Новый пентхаус в Лимассоле

€ 390 000

Купить квартиру в Лимассоле

€ 1 700 000

Продается дом в Пафосе

€ 380 000

Продажа усадьбы в Лимассоле

€ 2 000 000
Компания «Dom Real Estate» Контакты:
Адрес: Limassol, Cyprus,
Телефон:+357 25 212 212, Электронная почта: [email protected]