President of Cyprus Accused of Abuse of Power

Президента Кипра обвинили в превышении служебных полномочий
5 March 2021 Liza Medvetskaya
2656

Opposition MPs accused the President of Cyprus Nicos Anastasiades of abuse of power.

As it turned out, they were not satisfied with Anastasiades's explanations about his two family trips to the Seychelles in August 2015 and August 2018 on a private jet of a Saudi businessman.

Several days ago there was a meeting of the supervisory committee of the House of Representatives, the deputies listened to written responses from a questionnaire that had previously been sent to the President of Cyprus. Some deputies were outraged by what they heard and expressed their indignation at Anastasiades explanations.

The president said that parliament should perform a supervisory function, but this case turned into a lawsuit nosing into his personal life.

Anastasiades stressed that he paid for the first trip out of his own pocket, and the second one was free, as it was a gesture of the sheikh. Both flights were operated by Jet Stream Aviation Jeddah.

The President of Cyprus (a qualified lawyer by the way) assured that he had never hidden his travels, so he openly spoke about them during the interrogation of the Committee for Investigation of cases with golden passports.

According to him, the reason he did not mention the trip to the Committee in 2015 was that he paid for the flight out of his own pocket.

Anastasiades said the cost of the flight in 2015 was commensurate with charter fees, so there could not be embezzelment of government funds.

The president added that he never denied friendly relations with the sheikh, but this does not mean that he rendered him any services in return for a kind gesture with the plane. Regarding whether he had anything to do with a company or financial institution in the Seychelles, the president responded in the negative.

Президента Кипра обвинили в превышении служебных полномочий

The chairman of the supervisory committee of the House of Representatives, Zacharias Koulias, said that after all these conversations, the president did not provide evidence of the cost of the air tickets.

DIKO chairman and the deputy Nicholas Papadopoulos noted that Anastasiades continues to play hide and seek.

The President was asked to answer whether the private jet was provided free of charge in 2015 or it flew on preferential terms. If the plane was allocated at a low price, as the president said, then a serious political problem arises in connection with the possible payment for services to provide assistance to the sheikh, whose second wife received citizenship a few days later, is actually illegal, said Papadopoulos.

"Clearly, the president had been asked several days ago to answer as to whether the private jet – which today he admitted for the first time he used to fly to the Seychelles in 2015 – was granted either free of charge or on favourable terms. If the plane was provided at a low rate, as the president stated, then a major political issue arises over possible quid pro quo to help the Saudi, whose second wife was granted citizenship days later, illegally."

Papadopoulos also noted that if the private jet was provided to Anastasiades and his family free of charge, it could mean that the president had perjured before the Gold Passport Investigation Commission.

“Once again we call on the president of the republic to stop hiding, to tell the truth, produce proof of payment if such exists and, if the proof does not exist and he has lied, he should apologise to the people of Cyprus.”

As you may know, on August 18, 2015, six days after the first trip of Anastasiades to the Seychelles, the second wife of the sheikh applied for Cypriot citizenship. The Cabinet of Ministers approved her statement the next day, August 19. It should be noted, however, that Cypriot legislation does not provide for the naturalization of second spouses or polygamy.

This particular case was described in his reports first by the Auditor General of Cyprus, and then by the Special Committee dealing with high-risk naturalization issues in accordance with the criteria of the investment program.

Source: cyprus-mail.com
Photos: cyprus-mail.com
No one has left a comment yet
Place qoute
Interesting offers

New apartment in a top project

€ 999 000

Apartment by the sea

€ 3 500

Unique mansion in Platres

€ 3 450 000

Investment project in Limassol

€ 1 230 000

House for rent in Limassol

€ 4 400

Buy apartment in Limassol

€ 4 500 000


Apartments in the center of Limassol

€ 1 350

Penthouse with rooftop pool in Limassol

€ 450 000

Luxury penthouse

€ 10 000

Manor for sale in Limassol

€ 2 000 000
Компания «Dom Real Estate» Контакты:
Адрес: Limassol, Cyprus,
Телефон:+357 25 212 212, Электронная почта: info@dom.com.cy

Президента Кипра обвинили в превышении служебных полномочий

Президента Кипра обвинили в превышении служебных полномочий
5 Марта 2021 Liza Medvetskaya
2657

Депутаты оппозиционных партий обвинили президента Кипра Никоса Анастасиадиса в превышении своих полномочий.

Как оказалось, их не устроили объяснения Анастасиадиса по поводу двух полётов на Сейшельские острова, которые он совершил в августе 2015 года и августе 2018 года вместе со своей семьёй на частном самолёте саудовского бизнесмена.

На днях состоялось заседание наблюдательного комитета Палаты представителей, где были зачитаны письменные ответы из анкеты, которая ранее была направленна президенту Кипра для заполнения. Некоторые депутаты были возмущены услышанным и высказали негодование по поводу разъяснений Анастасиадиса.

Стоит отметить, что президент заявил, что парламент должен выполнять надзорную функцию, однако вместо этого, дело переросло в «судебный процесс, врезавшееся в его личную жизнь».

Анастасиадис подчеркнул, что первую поездку он оплатил из собственного кармана, а вторая была бесплатной, в качестве жеста доброй воли со стороны шейха. Оба перелёта осуществлялись через компанию Jet Stream Aviation Jeddah.

Президент Кипра - квалифицированный юрист по профессии - уверил, что никогда не скрывал своих поездок, поэтому открыто рассказал о них во время допроса Комитета по расследованию дел с «золотыми» паспортами.

По его словам, причина, по которой он не упомянул о поездке Комитету в 2015 году, заключалась в том, что он оплатил перелёт лично.

Анастасиадес сказал, что стоимость полёта в 2015 году была соизмерима с государственными сборами за чартер, поэтому не может быть и речи о хищении государственных средств.

Президент добавил, что никогда не отрицал дружеских отношений с шейхом, но это не значит, что он оказал ему какие-либо услуги взамен доброго жеста с самолётом. Относительно того, имел ли он какое-либо отношение к компании или финансовому учреждению на Сейшельских островах, президент ответил отрицательно.

Президента Кипра обвинили в превышении служебных полномочий

В свою очередь председатель наблюдательного комитета Палаты представителей Захариас Кулиас заявил, что после всех этих разговоров президент не представил доказательств стоимости авиабилетов, о которых идёт речь.

Глава «Дико» и депутат Николас Пападопулос отметили, что Анастасиадис продолжает играть с ними в прятки, увиливая от ответственности.

Президента попросили ответить, был ли предоставлен частный самолёт в 2015 году бесплатно или он летал на льготных условиях. Если самолёт выделили по низкой цене, как заявил президент, то возникает серьёзная политическая проблема в связи с возможной оплатой услуг по оказанию помощи шейху, чья вторая жена получила гражданство через несколько дней, фактически незаконно, - заявил Пападопулос.

Пападопулос также отметил, если частный самолёт был предоставлен Анастасиадису и его семье бесплатно, это может означать, что президент лжесвидетельствовал перед Комиссией по расследованию дел о «золотых» паспортах.

Мы ещё раз призываем президента перестать скрываться, рассказать правду, предоставить доказательства оплаты, если таковые существуют. В случае, если он солгал, то должен извиниться перед народом Кипра, - продолжил депутат.

Напомним, 18 августа 2015 года, через шесть дней после первой поездки Анастасиадиса на Сейшельские острова, вторая жена шейха из Саудовской Аравии подала заявление на получение кипрского гражданства. Кабинет министров одобрил её заявление уже на следующий день, 19 августа. При этом нужно отметить, что кипрское законодательство не предусматривает натурализации вторых супругов или полигамии.

Конкретно этот случай описал в своих отчётах сначала генеральный аудитор Кипра, а затем и Специальный комитет, занимающийся вопросами натурализации с высоким риском в соответствии с критериями инвестиционной программы.

Source: cyprus-mail.com
Photos: cyprus-mail.com
Еще никто не оставил комментарий
Оставьте свой комментарий...
Интересные предложения

Новая квартира в топовом проекте

€ 999 000

Недорогой дом в Лимассоле

€ 661 000

Аренда особняка в Лимассоле

€ 14 000

Роскошный пентхаус

€ 10 000

Продается дом

€ 750 000

Пентхаус с бассейном на крыше в Лимассоле

€ 450 000

Инвестиционный проект в Лимассоле

€ 1 230 000

Роскошная вилла в Пафосе

€ 887 000

Продается дом в Пафосе

€ 380 000

Роскошная вилла в Лимассоле

€ 3 300 000
Компания «Dom Real Estate» Контакты:
Адрес: Limassol, Cyprus,
Телефон:+357 25 212 212, Электронная почта: info@dom.com.cy