October 1: Population Census Begins in Cyprus

1 октября на Кипре начинается масштабная перепись населения
1 October 2021 DOM LiVE
949

On Friday, October 1, a population census starts in Cyprus.

The last time information about the inhabitants of the island was collected in 2011. The main goal is to register all people living in the Republic of Cyprus. A total of 1,100 enumerators will walk through houses and apartments, inviting the islanders to answer some questions.

The information collected during a census has traditionally been vital to governments as it provides data for informed decision-making. It is worth noting that ten years have passed since the last census. During this time, many events have happened, including the main ones: the financial crisis of 2012-2013, the civil war in Syria, Brexit, the coronavirus pandemic. These are the tectonic shifts that have affected the society of the country. Their consequences will become visible from the collected data.

1 октября на Кипре начинается масштабная перепись населения

The 2011 census showed that out of 840 407 people living in areas controlled by the government, 638 124 were born in Cyprus, 106 561 people were born in the EU countries (which then included the UK), another 90 405 people were born outside the union.

It is clear that the number of EU and third country nationals who have arrived in Cyprus over the past 10 years has increased. According to the 2011 census, 31,495 UK citizens, 24,532 Romanians, 19,284 Bulgarians and 18,788 Greeks lived in government-controlled areas. As for citizens from third countries, most of them were Georgians (11,814). The number of immigrants from Russia was 10,520, and the citizens of the Philippines was 10,009. Also, the census in 2011 showed that there were 3,272 Syrians living in Cyprus. And according to a report from the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees in Cyprus, published in March 2020, the number of Syrian citizens has grown to 12,000.

According to the 2001 census, "between 1992 and 2001, the proportion of residents with foreign citizenship increased from 4.2% to 9.4%." By the time of the 2011 census, this figure had grown to 21.4%, and the total population increased by 21.7% - from 689,565 to 838,897 people.

According to the latest estimates by the Statistical Office, in 2019 the population of Cyprus was about 880,000, but the exact figure is expected to be higher after the census is summed up.

It should be noted that the current population census will be held for the last time in its usual form, when census takers go from apartment to apartment and from house to house, offering to answer the questions of their questionnaire.

In the coming years, the Statistical Office plans to make greater use of various registers and administrative sources for the production of population statistics on an annual basis. Thus, the transition from the traditional census method to the use of administrative sources will soon take place, which will bring more benefits, not only in terms of reducing costs, but also in terms of the burden on respondents.

Source: stockwatch.com.cy
Photos: pixabay.com
No one has left a comment yet
Place qoute
Interesting offers

House in Limassol

€ 795 000

Fantastic penthouse

€ 630 000

House for sale in Limassol

€ 1 200 000

Penthouse for sale in Limassol

€ 3 000 000

Villa for sale in Pissouri

€ 1 250 000

Villa for sale in Limassol

€ 3 300 000

Hotel for sale in Paphos

€ 1 350 000

New apartment in Limassol

€ 277 500

Villa for sale in Paphos

€ 887 000

House for sale in Limassol

€ 661 000
Компания «Dom Real Estate» Контакты:
Адрес: Limassol, Cyprus,
Телефон:+357 25 212 212, Электронная почта: info@dom.com.cy

1 октября на Кипре начинается масштабная перепись населения

1 октября на Кипре начинается масштабная перепись населения
1 Октября 2021 DOM LiVE
970

В пятницу, 1 октября, на Кипре начинается масштабная перепись населения.

К слову, последний раз информацию о жителях острова собирали в далёком 2011 году. Главная цель - зарегистрировать всех живущих в Республике Кипр людей. В общей сложности 1100 переписчиков пройдут по домам и квартирам, предлагая островитянам ответить на вопросы их анкет.

Информация, собранная в ходе переписи, традиционно имеет жизненно важное значение для государства, поскольку она предоставляет данные для принятия обоснованных решений. Стоит отметить, что с последней переписи населения прошло десять лет. За это время произошло много событий в числе главных из них: финансовый кризис 2012-2013 годов, гражданская война в Сирии, «Брексит», пандемия коронавируса. Это те тектонические сдвиги, которые повлияли на общество страны. Их последствия станут видны из собранных данных.

1 октября на Кипре начинается масштабная перепись населения

Например, перепись 2011 года показала, что из 840 407 человек, проживающих в районах, контролируемых правительством, 638 124 родились на Кипре, 106 561 человек родились в странах ЕС (в который тогда ещё входила Великобритания), ещё 90 405 жителей родились в государствах, не входящих в Евросоюз.

Очевидно, что число граждан ЕС и третьих стран, прибывших за последние 10 лет на Кипр, увеличилось. Согласно переписи 2011 года, на контролируемых правительством территориях проживали 31 495 британцев, 24 532 румына, 19 284 болгарина и 18 788 греков. Что касается граждан из третьих странах, то больше всего на острове проживало грузин (11 814). Число выходцев из России составило 10 520, а граждан Филиппин — 10 009. Также перепись в 2011 году показала, что на Кипре проживали 3 272 сирийца. А согласно отчёту Управления Верховного Комиссариата ООН по делам беженцев на Кипре, опубликованному в марте 2020 года, число граждан Сирии выросло до 12 000 человек.

Согласно переписи 2001 года, «в период с 1992 по 2001 год доля жителей с иностранным гражданством увеличилась с 4,2% до 9,4%». Ко времени переписи 2011 года этот показатель вырос до 21,4%, а общая численность населения увеличилась на 21,7% — с 689 565 до 838 897 человек.

По последним оценкам Статистической службы, в 2019 году численность населения Кипра составляла около 880 000 человек, но ожидается, что точная цифра после подведения итогов переписи будет выше.

Нужно отметить, что нынешняя перепись населения пройдёт последний раз в привычном виде, когда переписчики ходят от квартиры к квартире и от дома к дому, предлагая ответить на вопросы своей анкеты.

В ближайшие годы Статистическая служба планирует шире использовать разные реестры и административные источники для подготовки статистики народонаселения на ежегодной основе. Так, вскоре произойдёт переход от традиционного метода проведения переписи к использованию административных источников принесёт больше пользы не только с точки зрения снижения затрат, но и с точки зрения нагрузки на респондентов.

Source: stockwatch.com.cy
Photos: pixabay.com
Еще никто не оставил комментарий
Оставьте свой комментарий...
Интересные предложения

Особняк в Лимассоле

€ 1 200 000

Купить квартиру в Лимассоле

€ 4 500 000

Продажа усадьбы в Лимассоле

€ 2 000 000

Аренда виллы в Лимассоле

€ 12 000

Двухэтажная квартира в Лимассоле

€ 500 000

Отличный дом в Лимассоле

€ 3 500

Купить пентхаус в Лимассоле

€ 365 000

Уникальный особняк в Платрес

€ 3 450 000

Роскошная вилла в Пафосе

€ 887 000

Вилла в Писсури

€ 325 000
Компания «Dom Real Estate» Контакты:
Адрес: Limassol, Cyprus,
Телефон:+357 25 212 212, Электронная почта: info@dom.com.cy