Cyprus refused to cancel the program “Golden Passports”

Кипр отказался отменять программу "золотых паспортов"
21 April 2020 Maxim Arte
3405

On April 01, the European Commission called on Cyprus, Malta, Bulgaria to close their passport program in exchange for investment. In an interview with Phileleftheros, the head of Internal Affairsof the Republic of Cyprus, Nikos Nuris, said that the government is not going to refuse the concept of “golden passports”. It can become one of the main ways to get finances to the Cypriot economy, which is in crisis situation after COVID-19 pandemic.

We believe that according to measures that were taken after May 2019, we do not need to complete this program,– the Minister of Internal Affairs explained.

According to his opinion, the authorities of the Republic of Cyprus intend to intensity the process of considering applications. Now, about 900 applications have accumulated from foreign millionaires, asking to grant them Cypriot citizenship in exchange for investment. The process of reviewing documents that were submitted in March 2019 has been completed. Authorities are studying 474 applications, that were submitted in April and May 2019.

When the acute phase of the COVID-19 pandemic will over, the competition will intensify from other countries, which will also try to attract foreign investments. The authorities of the Republic of Cyprus intend to increase the level of confidence in their investment program by tightening the conditions for issuing passports. Special committee of three is developing amendments to the law, that will be soon submitted to parliament. 

Earlier, in response to criticism from the US and the EU, Cyprus began to revoke already issued citizenship before the coronavirus epidemy. It was obvious, that the rules of issuing passports would be tightened. But with the start of the epidemic, everything changed. But the country urgently needs funds to liquidate the consequences of COVID-19, but the EU is not hurrying up to help. The idea if selling citizenship for contributions to a special fund without real estate investment is currently being discussed in Cyprus. If these conversations move to the legislative plane, the amount of the contribution may be about 700 000 EUR.

Despite the fact, that many people have already rushed to write off Cyprus, it can make the most modified and attractive program, when the crisis and quarantine will end. 

Source: Evropakipr
Photos: pixabay.com
No one has left a comment yet
Place qoute
Interesting offers

Investment project in Limassol

€ 1 230 000

New apartment in Limassol

€ 277 500

House for sale in Limassol

€ 600 000

Giant house in a picturesque place

€ 1 800 000

Villa for sale in Cyprus

€ 2 700 000

Apartment by the sea

€ 3 500

House for sale

€ 750 000

Villa for sale in Limassol

€ 1 200 000

Penthouse with rooftop pool in Limassol

€ 450 000

House for sale in Paphos

€ 380 000
Компания «Dom Real Estate» Контакты:
Адрес: Limassol, Cyprus,
Телефон:+357 25 212 212, Электронная почта: info@dom.com.cy

Кипр отказался отменять программу "золотых паспортов"

Кипр отказался отменять программу "золотых паспортов" Кипр отказался отменять программу "золотых паспортов"
21 Апреля 2020 DOM LiVE
851 0

1 апреля Европейская комиссия призвала Кипр, Мальту и Болгарию постепенно свернуть программу выдачи паспортов в обмен на инвестиции. В интервью Phileleftheros глава МВД Республики Кипр Никос Нурис заявил, что правительство не собирается отказываться от концепции «золотых паспортов». Они могут стать одним из главных способов привлечения финансов в кипрскую экономику, оказавшуюся в кризисе после начала пандемии COVID-19.

— Мы считаем, что благодаря мерам, принятым после мая 2019 года, у нас нет необходимости завершать данную программу, — пояснил министр внутренних дел.

Более того — по его словам, власти Республики Кипр намерены активизировать процесс рассмотрения заявлений. Сейчас скопилось около 900 заявлений от иностранных миллионеров с просьбой предоставления им кипрского гражданства в обмен на инвестиции. Завершен процесс рассмотрения документов, поданных в марте 2019 года. Власти изучают 474 заявления, которые были поданы в апреле и мае минувшего года.

После завершения острой фазы пандемии COVID-19 усилится конкуренция со стороны других стран, которые тоже будут пытаться привлечь иностранные инвестиции. Власти Республики Кипр намерены увеличить уровень доверия к своей инвестиционной программе, ужесточив условия выдачи паспортов. Специальный комитет из трех человек разрабатывает поправки к закону, которые вскоре будут переданы в парламент.

Напомним, что ранее Кипр в ответ на критику со стороны США и ЕС начал отзывать уже выданные гражданства еще до начала распространения коронавируса. Было очевидно, что правила его выдачи будут ужесточаться. Но с началом пандемии все изменилось. Стране срочно нужны средства для ликвидации последствий COVID-19, а ЕС снова не спешит на помощь. Поэтому сейчас на Кипре обсуждается идея продажи гражданства за взносы в специальный фонд без инвестиций в недвижимость. Если эти разговоры перейдут в законодательную плоскость, размер взноса может составить около 700 тысяч евро.

Все это несмотря на то, что Кипр многие уже поспешили списать со счетов, может сделать модифицированную кипрскую программу самой привлекательной, когда кризис и карантин закончатся. 

Источник: evropakipr

Комментарии
Еще никто не оставил комментарий
Комментарии могут оставлять только зарегистрированные пользователи

Вход и регистрация
Компания «Dom Real Estate» Контакты:
Адрес: Limassol, Cyprus,
Телефон:+357 25 212 212, Электронная почта: info@dom.com.cy